The Enchantments of Love: Amorous and Exemplary Novels

Maria de Zayas

Published by University of California Press, 1990
ISBN 10: 0520066715 / ISBN 13: 9780520066717
New / Quantity Available: 0
From LVeritas (Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Bookseller Inventory # 36S9KG0005TZ

About this title:

Synopsis: An instant best-seller in Spain in 1637, The Enchantments of Love is a collection of shrewd and timeless tales in the tradition of Bocaccio's Decameron and Chaucer's Canterbury Tales. Although some of the tales have appeared in English through the centuries, this delightful translation by H. Patsy Boyer is the first complete text.

The structure of the book is provided by a series of lavish soirees at which five men and five women entertain with stories their ailing hostess, the lovely Lysis. Each of the ten tales explores some aspect of "enchantment," or love, between a handsome gallant and a lovely lady. The sharp contrast between the women's and men's stories transmits a subtle, often ironic feminism. Their originality, frankness, and powerful style make them as readable today as they were 350 years ago.

The women storytellers emphasize the perspective of female protagonists, all of whom are deceived or abused by their husbands or by suitors. Each is finally driven to perform some act of heroism before finding satisfaction in marriage, or a haven in the convent. The men's stories all point to moral flaws in the characters' behavior: egotism, avarice, shortsightedness, lust, and unfaithfulness.

Maria de Zayas portrays every theme from eroticism and brutal rape to the most exalted love. Her success with this book and its sequel, The Disenchantments of Love (1647), is well documented, although the details of her life are sadly lacking. Her bold treatment of the relationships between men and women challenged the literary conventions of her day, and her defense of women has earned her a reputation as a pioneering feminist.

From the Back Cover: "Professor Boyer makes it possible for Hispanists to share the flavor as well as the lively substance of Maria de Zayas's writing with colleagues interested in the history of the novel and the representation of women in early modern Europe. . . . The style of the original is characteristically clear and lively. The translation conveys its tone remarkably well. . . . These novellas are of primary importance to an understanding of the evolving structures of narrative." (Emilie Bergmann, University of California, Berkeley)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Enchantments of Love: Amorous and ...
Publisher: University of California Press
Publication Date: 1990
Book Condition: New

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Maria de Zayas
Published by University of California Press (1990)
ISBN 10: 0520066715 ISBN 13: 9780520066717
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Alley
(Pasadena, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of California Press, 1990. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Includes dust jacket. Ex-library with usual treatment. Dust jacket is clean, bright and crisp; in brodart taped to boards. Softening at spine ends. NO marks in text; binding is solid. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000036727

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 26.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Maria de Zayas
Published by University of California Press
ISBN 10: 0520066715 ISBN 13: 9780520066717
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of California Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. little to no wear, pages are clean. The cover and binding are crisp with next no creases. Bookseller Inventory # 2763396008

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 31.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

MARIA DE ZAYAS
Published by UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA PRES
ISBN 10: 0520066715 ISBN 13: 9780520066717
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Montclair Book Center
(Montclair, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA PRES. HARDCOVER W/JACKET. Book Condition: GOOD CONDITION. Some pencil underlining to last chapter of text. Bookseller Inventory # IM175771

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 30.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

de Zayas, Maria
Published by University of California Press
ISBN 10: 0520066715 ISBN 13: 9780520066717
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
More Than Words
(Waltham, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of California Press. Book Condition: Very Good. A bright, square, and overall a nice copy All orders guaranteed and ship within 24 hours. Before placing your order for please contact us for confirmation on the book's binding. Check out our other listings to add to your order for discounted shipping. Bookseller Inventory # BOS-M-08h-00014

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 34.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Maria De Zayas
ISBN 10: 0520066715 ISBN 13: 9780520066717
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Very Good. Book Condition: Very Good. Bookseller Inventory # 97805200667173.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 79.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

de Zayas, Maria
Published by University of California Press (1990)
ISBN 10: 0520066715 ISBN 13: 9780520066717
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of California Press, 1990. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110520066715

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 96.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Zayas, Maria de
Published by Univ of California Pr, Berkeley (1990)
ISBN 10: 0520066715 ISBN 13: 9780520066717
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Chatham Bookseller
(Madison, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Univ of California Pr, Berkeley, 1990. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Fine. First Edition. xl, 312p. Cloth. A fine copy, in a fine d.j. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 017320

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 100.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Maria de Zayas
Published by University of California Press (1990)
ISBN 10: 0520066715 ISBN 13: 9780520066717
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of California Press, 1990. Hardcover. Book Condition: Used: Acceptable. Bookseller Inventory # SONG0520066715

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 123.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Maria de Zayas
Published by University of California Press (1990)
ISBN 10: 0520066715 ISBN 13: 9780520066717
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of California Press, 1990. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. First Edition. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Bookseller Inventory # 0520066715

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 131.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds