Stock Image

Enigma Variations

Price, Sally, Price, Richard

13 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 067425726X / ISBN 13: 9780674257269
Published by Harvard University Press, 1995
Used Condition: Very Good Hardcover
Buy Used
Price: US$ 4.95 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

Offered By

Luval Farm Enterprises
Woodburn, OR, U.S.A.

5-star rating

AbeBooks Seller Since December 19, 2007

About this Item

hardback edition in very good condition. No markings or highlightings. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000105266

Quantity Available: 1

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Enigma Variations

Publisher: Harvard University Press

Publication Date: 1995

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Very Good

About this title

Synopsis:

Noted writers on art, culture, and the tropical Americas, Richard and Sally Price have crafted a mystery at the intersections of art and anthropology. Drawing readers into their quest for a solution, they build an unusual partnership between text and pictures, daringly expanding the possibilities of academic discourse. Enigma Variations--in the tradition of The Recognitions and The Crying of Lot 49--is an entertainment as readable for its intellectual power as for its irresistible drama.

(2004-07-01)

From the Back Cover:

In a steamy colonial city, an eccentric Frenchman offers for sale an extraordinary collection of primitive art. The two anthropologists called in to appraise the pieces for the national museum quickly find themselves in a murky world where the boundaries of authenticity and deception blur in the tropical heat. What begins as an intellectual puzzle threatens to turn into a deadly confrontation. As the game of cat-and-mouse unfolds, the trail leads from the fashionable living rooms of French expatriates to the thatched huts of the Amazonian rainforest, from a Princeton seminar room to a cluttered warehouse not far from Devil's Island, from a chic Parisian cafe to the cobbled streets of northeastern Brazil. Are the objects in the collection worldclass masterpieces of primitive art? Or do they reflect the agile hand and twisted mind of a brilliant forger? Or might the ultimate enigma be of an entirely different nature? Under the equatorial sun, the anthropologists' obsessive pursuit of Truth gradually undermines their academic certainties about art and culture - and, ultimately, their vision of reality itself.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you¿ve changed your mind about a book that you¿ve ordered, please use the [Ask bookseller a question] link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express