Stock Image

Ethics As Social Science

Yeager, Leland B.

2 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1840645210 / ISBN 13: 9781840645217
Published by Edward Elgar Pub, 2001
New Condition: New
From Paperbackshop-US (Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since April 7, 2005

Quantity Available: 4

About this Item

New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # T5-9781840645217

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Ethics As Social Science

Publisher: Edward Elgar Pub

Publication Date: 2001

Binding: HRD

Book Condition:New

About this title

Synopsis:

With this important book, esteemed economist Leland B. Yeager grounds moral and political philosophy in the requirements of a well-functioning society, one whose members reap the gains from peaceful cooperation while pursuing their own diverse goals. This book explores the reasons an individual may have for helping to uphold such a society rather than seeking a free ride on the moral behavior of others. A work in the tradition of Hume, Smith, Mill, von Mises, Hayek and Hazlitt, it expounds a rules or indirect version of utilitarianism. It reviews criticisms of utilitarianism in detail, as well as alternative grounds of ethics including contractarianism, rights-based doctrines, and appeals to specific intuitions. Yeager brings the insights of economics to bear on a field usually dominated by philosophers and theologians. Ethics comes across as a subject amply open to the findings of economics and the other social and natural sciences. Economists, philosophers and other students and scholars of the social sciences will welcome this book. It will also appeal to any reader interested in exploring the ideas of ethics.

About the Author:

Leland B. Yeager, formerly Ludwig von Mises Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Economics, Auburn University and Paul Goodloe McIntire Professor of Economics Emeritus, University of Virginia, US

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Paperbackshop-US are an established bookseller who have been serving customers worldwide since 2000. With warehouses in the US and the UK, Paperbackshop-US have a huge range of titles to offer including old favourites, out of print books and the latest best sellers.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Ordering - Please place your order via the AbeBooks website and allow 2 working days for dispatch from our US warehouse. Delivery thereafter is 4 to 14 business days. Returns - We hope you will be delighted with everything you buy from us. However, if you do need to return an item to us, we kindly ask that goods are returned in their original condition within 14 days of receipt. In this instance the return cost must be borne by the buyer. In the event you receive an item which is not as advertis...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Books are shipped from our US or UK warehouses. Delivery estimates allow for delivery from either location.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express