Stock Image

The Eyre Affair *Signed w/card and upgrade kit*

Fforde, Jasper

101,016 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0340820470 / ISBN 13: 9780340820476
Published by Hodder & Stoughton, 2001
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Partners & Crime Mystery Booksellers (New York, NY, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since August 5, 1998 Seller Rating 5-star rating

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 120.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 7.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Signed first UK and true first edition. The first of Fforde's superior literary mysteries featuring Thursday Next and set in a strange, parallel 1985 where you can make a dodo from a home-cloning kit and the arch-villain hijacks beloved characters from the citizenry's favorite books. This author's first novel and a Partner's Pick is Signed in all caps. Bookseller Inventory # 1302110001

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Eyre Affair *Signed w/card and upgrade ...

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Publication Date: 2001

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed

Edition: First Edition.

About this title

Synopsis:

The first installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series of Thursday Next novels introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England

Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it’s a bibliophile’s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Brontë's novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde's ingenious fantasy—enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel—unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with six more bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and the upcoming The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com.

Review:

Penzler Pick, January 2002: When I first heard the premise of this unique mystery, I doubted that a first-time author could pull off a complicated caper involving so many assumptions, not the least of which is a complete suspension of disbelief. Jasper Fforde is not only up to the task, he exceeds all expectations.

Imagine this. Great Britain in 1985 is close to being a police state. The Crimean War has dragged on for more than 130 years and Wales is self-governing. The only recognizable thing about this England is her citizens' enduring love of literature. And the Third Most Wanted criminal, Acheron Hades, is stealing characters from England's cherished literary heritage and holding them for ransom.

Bibliophiles will be enchanted, but not surprised, to learn that stealing a character from a book only changes that one book, but Hades has escalated his thievery. He has begun attacking the original manuscripts, thus changing all copies in print and enraging the reading public. That's why Special Operations Network has a Literary Division, and it is why one of its operatives, Thursday Next, is on the case.

Thursday is utterly delightful. She is vulnerable, smart, and, above all, literate. She has been trying to trace Hades ever since he stole Mr. Quaverley from the original manuscript of Martin Chuzzlewit and killed him. You will only remember Mr. Quaverley if you read Martin Chuzzlewit prior to 1985. But now Hades has set his sights on one of the plums of literature, Jane Eyre, and he must be stopped.

How Thursday achieves this and manages to preserve one of the great books of the Western canon makes for delightfully hilarious reading. You do not have to be an English major to be pulled into this story. You'll be rooting for Thursday, Jane, Mr. Rochester--and a familiar ending. --Otto Penzler

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

ORDERING INFORMATION: In US dollars. Phone orders
are accepted. New York State Residents add 8.25% sales tax.

BEST HOURS TO ORDER: via email 24x7.

SHIPPING: By UPS in the USA. First book $7.50, and $1.00 each additional book. Insurance is optional:
add $0.75 for orders to $50.00; $1.60 for orders to $100.00; $2.40 for orders over $100.00. A street
address is required as UPS will not deliver to post office boxes. International shipping may require a
separate quote.

All books subject to prior sale...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 3 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. Overseas shipping may require a separate quote, depending on your preferences.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

PayPal