Stock Image

Fair Wind & Plenty of It: A Modern-Day Tall Ship Adventure

Crockett, Rigel

58 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1594861609 / ISBN 13: 9781594861604
Published by Rodale, Emmaus, Penn., 2005
Condition: Very Good + Hardcover
From Black Falcon Books (Wellesley, MA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since July 23, 2012

Quantity Available: 1

About this Item

First American edition; first printing, full number line. Signed by the author on the title page: "Rigel Crockett." The book is unmarked; slight spine slant; one corner, spine ends bumped. The dust jacket is not price-clipped (original price $23.95); light edgewear; an "Autographed Copy" sticker on the front panel. Brodart protected. 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 005503

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Fair Wind & Plenty of It: A Modern-Day Tall ...

Publisher: Rodale, Emmaus, Penn.

Publication Date: 2005

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition:Very Good +

Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good +

Signed: Signed by Author

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

A modern, true-life equivalent of Patrick O'Brien's popular books, this is a must-read for lovers of nautical adventure. On November 25th, 1997, a three-masted, square-rigged tall ship headed out from Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, on a voyage around the world. It would travel for more than a year and a half, calling at ports as exotic and varied as Aruba, Samoa, Bali, and Zanzibar. In Fair Wind and Plenty of It, Rigel Crockett-a man who grew up in a shipbuilding village in Nova Scotia, whose own father was a shipbuilder and mother a sailmaker-tells the true story of that journey, and of his own quest to reconcile his family legacy with his need to take part in that harrowing voyage.

Fair Wind and Plenty of It is a virtuoso debut, perfectly captured in a mariner's idiom, filled with high seas drama and human intrigue and a personal exploration of what it means to be a sailor.

From the Inside Flap:

In the tradition of Godforsaken Sea and In the Heart of the Sea, Fair Wind and Plenty of It is a virtuoso debut by a sailor turned scribe -- a must-read for lovers of nautical adventure.

On November 25th, 1997, the barque Picton Castle, a three-masted, square-rigged tall ship, headed out from Lunenburg, Nova Scotia on a voyage around the world. Aboard ship a shifting crew of thirty, a combination of professional sailors and paying crew who were out $32,500 for the privilege of working "crew before the mast," would travel for over a year and half, calling in at ports as exotic and varied as Aruba, Somoa, Bali and Zanzibar.

Fair Wind and Plenty of It tells the story of an obsession, as Captain Dan Moreland, driven by a desire to make his mark in the world of traditional sail, rallies forces to convert a sixty-nine-year-old North Sea trawler into a seaworthy tall ship, and then assembles the crew to sail it. It's the story of the uneasy balance that is achieved on board, where insubordination and rancour must be kept in line among a crew whose only connection is their common desire to be part of this journey. And it is Rigel's story: a man who was conceived the day his father laid the keel for his first boat, whose mother was a sailmaker, and who has to reconcile his family legacy with his own need to understand why he must take part in the voyage of the barque Picton Castle.

In Fair Wind and Plenty of It, Rigel Crockett tells a tale of shipboard camaraderie, gut-wrenching struggles and the near-mutinies that marked the year-and-a half journey -- where fellow shipmates proved to be as perilous as the ever-present sea.

From the Hardcover edition.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Black Falcon Books is an online seller with a broad range of titles, including fiction and nonfiction, hardcover and paperback, many of them signed by authors.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If
you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged)
or if the
order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the
estimated delivery
date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use
the Ask
bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business
days.
Mark Mayell
27 Seaver St.
Wellesley, MA 02481
United State...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books
weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact
you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express