Fall Guy for Murder and Other Stories (Hardcover)

Johnny Craig

Published by Fantagraphics Books, 2013
ISBN 10: 1606996584 / ISBN 13: 9781606996584
New / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
From Grand Eagle Retail (Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Hardcover. Johnny Craig always stood out at EC Comics thanks to his crisp, elegant and contemporary graphic style. And nowhere did this style work more beautifully than in the dozens of superb crime .Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 200 pages. 4.750. Bookseller Inventory # 9781606996584

About this title:

Synopsis: Surrounded by the ornate, retro, proto-splatter horror graphics of Jack Davis and Graham Ingels and the slick, futuristic sci-fi stylings of Wally Wood and Al Williamson, EC Comics superstar Johnny Craig stood out in the 1950s with his elegant, crisp, contemporary graphic style. And nowhere did this style work more beautifully than in the dozens of superb crime and horror comics he wrote and drew for EC, mostly for the two comics he also edited, Crime SuspenStories and The Vault of Horror. (Craig was the only EC artist to habitually write his own material for the entire length of EC's run.) Featuring murderous husbands and wives, executioners, thieving surgeons, vengeful sword-swallowers, time bombs, private dicks, vampires, werewolves, and ghouls, the 23 stories in this book comprise a perfect encapsulation of the very best and darkest kind of noir and horror writing, stunningly executed (in more than one sense of the word) by one of the great cartoonists of his (or any) era. And all in seven or eight pages per story! Fall Guy For Murder And Other Stories is once again, as are the other EC Comic Library releases, supplemented with several fascinating essays and informative historical notes on the stories.

About the Author: John "Johnny" Thomas Alexis Craig (born in 1925 in Pleasantville, New York) drew one of the most infamous covers in comic book history: the “severed head” Crime SuspenStories that was spotlighted at the Kefauver comics hearings. He passed away in 2001.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Fall Guy for Murder and Other Stories (...
Publisher: Fantagraphics Books
Publication Date: 2013
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: New
Edition: 1st.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Johnny Craig
ISBN 10: 1606996584 ISBN 13: 9781606996584
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(Lidcombe, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1st. Hardcover. Johnny Craig always stood out at EC Comics thanks to his crisp, elegant and contemporary graphic style. And nowhere did this style work more beautifully than in the dozens of .Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 200 pages. 4.750. Seller Inventory # 9781606996584

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 65.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 37.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Johnny Craig - HARDBACK FIRST EDITION
Published by FANTAGRAPHICS (2013)
ISBN 10: 1606996584 ISBN 13: 9781606996584
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE BOOKSNIFFER
(Lewes, East Sussex, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description FANTAGRAPHICS, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1st Edition. Superb artist, Johnny Craig was referred to as the James M Cain of the crime graphic novel. This gorgeous tribute to his outstanding talent is a must for fans of American Noir. NEW and UNREAD copy of the hardback first edition, issued without a jacket. This is a stunning collection. Language: eng. Seller Inventory # ABE-1479322406946

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 82.01
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 13.27
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds