Stock Image

The Fallen Nightingale

Milton, John W.

0 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1592980716 / ISBN 13: 9781592980710
Published by Beaver's Pond Press, Inc., Edina, Minnesota, 2004
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Glued To The Tube Books (Minneapolis, MN, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since November 13, 2002

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 67.50 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.25 Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

"THE FALLEN ANGEL is a luminous work, infused with a historian's exactitude, conjuring up the cultural essence of Barcelona, and taking the reader from the coast of northeastern Spain to Paris, new York, Washington, and London. Milton's novel is a feast for lovers of art, music, biography, and history. Yet it has all the stuff of a potboiler: intrigue, romance and affairs, dynamic dialogue, disease and death, dalliances of the rich and famous, storms at sea, and the disasters of war." this book has 594 pages. The book is a SIGNED AND DATED copy from the author, John W. Milton. In addition, the author has made a notation indicating that this particular copy is No. 11 of the FIRST EDITION. Bookseller Inventory # 034315

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Fallen Nightingale

Publisher: Beaver's Pond Press, Inc., Edina, Minnesota

Publication Date: 2004

Binding: Cloth

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed by Author

Edition: First Printing

About this title

Synopsis:

History and fiction merge seamlessly in The Fallen Nightingale, the story of pianist Enrique Granados, whose musical genius is now being rediscovered after nearly a century of obscurity. Dreaming of a time when his talent will be recognized, Granados endures years of frustration, betrayal, rejection and serious illness. Along the way, he meets a legendary opera tenor and amateur artist, a gourmand army general who saves Paris from the German invasion, a barefoot dancer with a legion of heartbroken suitors, an Austrian violinist wounded by charging Cossacks on the Russian front, a pianist who becomes Prime Minister of Poland, and a United States president who aspires to be the world's peacemaker -- and sings his national anthem off-key.

This riveting novel recaptures Granados' time in absorbing detail, drawn from Milton's intense six years of research in the countries and cities wherein Granados worked and lived. With a vivid sense of fin de siecle Europe, Milton takes the reader from Barcelona to Madrid, Paris, and London and on to New York and Washington. The novel is a feast for lovers of art, music, opera, biography, and history, and is spiced with the stuff of a potboiler: intrigue, romance, tragedy, dalliances of the rich and famous, storms at sea, and the devastation of World War I. Each book also includes a CD of Granados' music, performed by the internationally-renowned pianist, Douglas Riva.

Readers of literary fiction, biography or history will find themselves at the end of the Victorian Age, passing through the Modernist period and the upheaval preceding the Great War. The novel will be of special interest to devotees of piano and chamber music, to opera lovers and, for that matter, to virtually anyone moved by the power of music. As an armchair vacation or travel companion, it is sure to capture readers with the beauty, allure and magic of Granados' beloved homeland. In the tradition of The English Patient, Girl With A Pearl Earri

From the Publisher:

"The Fallen Nightingale" by John W. Milton won 1st place honors for Historical/Military Fiction in the 2004 Independent Publishers Book Awards (IPPY Award).

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

We sell online only.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Billing available to established
accounts with payment upon receipt of book(s). 30 day net billing available to
accredited institutions. Returns are allowed with prior notification to dealer.
Return shipping charges paid by customer.To use credit card go thru abe check out.


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express