Stock Image

Family Attractions

Freeman, Judith

ISBN 10: 067082108X / ISBN 13: 9780670821082
Published by Viking, 1988
Used Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Bill Leone, Bookseller, ABAA (Palos Verdes Estates, CA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since September 22, 1998

Quantity Available: 1

About this Item

First Edition (first printing). The debut by the author of SET FOR LIFE and A DESERT OF PURE FEELING, a story collection in the tradition of Sherwood Anderson and Willa Cather. Fine/Fine. Signed by Freeman on the title page. Bookseller Inventory # 10432

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Family Attractions

Publisher: Viking

Publication Date: 1988

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed by Author

Edition: 1st Edition.

About this title

From Publishers Weekly:

Freeman's 11-story debut is an able chronicle of the ordinary, bittersweet routine of family life, but one wishes for more sparkle in her earthy, gentle prose. In the title story, a man marries a woman 25 years his junior and gradually assimilates into her family, but the specter of a hospitalized child forces a wedge between a young Mormon couple in "Going out to Sea." In "What Is This Movie?" a mother demonstrates solidarity with a somewhat estranged daughter by deflating the tires of a car belonging to the younger woman's unfaithful lover; and the Mexican gardener of "The Rake People" abducts the beloved pet of a married client who refuses his affections. A number of stories depict characters on the threshold of change: a UPS man delivers a package to a lonely widow on her birthday and stays for dinner in "The Joan Crawford Letter"; a woman who breaks off a relationship with a married man musters strength and resolve from her family in "Camp Rose"; a converted Mormon's recovery from a grave illness brings him closer to faith in the pagan magic of nature but spurs his wife to renounce the last vestiges of her Catholicism in "The Death of a Mormon Elder." (Mormons figure in several pieces but, with the exception of this story, the background details are, unfortunately, not developed.)
Copyright 1987 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

An on-line and by-appointment-only bookseller specializing in modern first editions and signed books.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

This is a single proprietorship, owned and operated by William C Leone Jr, 2408 Chelsea Road, Palos Verdes Estates, CA 90274, USA. The email address is wcleone@aol.com and phone number is 310-377-2628. Payment by check, money order, VISA, MasterCard, American Express or PayPal. Member, ABAA. California residents add 9.00% sales tax.


Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. The dust jacket for every book shipped is covered with mylar/plastic. Every item is shipped in a sturdy box with bubble-wrap to ensure safe delivery.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order PayPal