Image Not Available

Father Malebranche's treatise concerning the search after truth. The whole work compleat. To which is added the author's treatise of nature, and grace. Being a consequence of the principles contain'd in the search.

Malebranche, Nicolas.

Published by Pr. by L. Lichfield for Thomas Bennet, Oxford, 1694
From SessaBks (ABAA, ILAB) (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since April 10, 2001

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 850.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 8.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Rationalist philosophy in the tradition of Descartes and Spinoza, here translated from the original French into English by Thomas Taylor of Magdalen College, a prominent follower of the author's. In addition to Taylor's rendition of La Recherche de la v?rit?, the volume also includes the "Answer to the Animadversions upon the First Volume: His Defense against the Accusations of Mr. De la Ville, &c.," which has a separate title-page, as does the "Treatise Concerning Nature and Grace." Portions of the text are illustrated with in-text geometrical diagrams. Provenance: Front pastedown with inked ownership inscriptions of Benjamin Hale (dated 1847) and Daniel Evans; title-page with inked ownership inscription: "F. Chevalier May 1790"; presentation bookplate noting the gift of the book by the Rev. Evans to Andover Newton Theological Library, where he was Abbot Professor of Christian Theology. Folio (34 cm, 13.4"). [16], 172 (i.e., 178: 85?88 repeated in pagination), 10, 203, [1], 42 pp.; illus. Wing (rev. ed.) M317; ESTC R11766. Contemporary calf, framed and panelled in blind with blind-tooled corner fleurons, spine with gilt-stamped leather title-label; rubbed and scuffed, front cover detached, spine with shelving number in white. Inscriptions and bookplate as above, title-page verso and upper margin of one page with institutional rubber-stamp, back free endpaper with slip; intermittent instances of pencilled and inked bracketing and a few of early inked underlining, with several marginal annotations (two substantial). Pages cockled and gently age-toned, with varying degrees of foxing and with two leaves (only) significantly browned; some corners dog-eared. One leaf with lower outer portion torn away, not touching text; occasional small edge chips. Bookseller Inventory # 35168

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Father Malebranche's treatise concerning the...

Publisher: Pr. by L. Lichfield for Thomas Bennet, Oxford

Publication Date: 1694

Store Description

Mail order only.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Everything is guaranteed to be as described, everything is offered subject to prior sale, everything is sold as on approval; all prices are net, with postage, handling, and insurance extra.

Anything sent may be returned for any reason within 5 days of receipt, although
prior notice is required and the returned item must be packed according to our instructions; credit will be applied when the item has arrived back at PRB&M in the same condition as when shipped and will include postage both ways i...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Unless we are otherwise instructed, delivery in the U.S. is typically by USPS priority mail on orders $300 and under and by UPS ground service on orders over that, with overnight or second-day delivery readily arrangeable at an additional charge; shipment abroad is by USPS air mail service.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order PayPal Bank Draft Bank/Wire Transfer