Stock Image

Foreign Correspondent -- A Memoir

Greenway, H. D. S.

72 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1476761329 / ISBN 13: 9781476761329
Published by Simon and Schuster, New York, 2014
Condition: As New Hardcover
From Books First (Washington, DC, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since November 18, 1998

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 50.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

This is, apparently, the Age of the Memoir, and they are numerous and often enlightening. By many accounts, especially those of his journalist colleagues and peers, H. D. S. Greenway has written one of the best, especially the detailed and insightful comments on Greenway's experiences in Southeast Asia. His memoir is anecdotal, replete with factual first person information, some of it harrowing, and Greenway is a superb raconteur. His book has not made much of a splash, in this age of shortened memories, but it is first rate "sophisticated modern history," a page turner, and eventually should become a classic. As William Shawcross writes in a jacket blurb, the work of a foreign correspondent is to "go out and discover and tell the truth about the difficult decisions in distant, dangerous places." Well, that's what he did. This is an UNREAD copy in AS NEW condition, number line starting with l, first edition first printing. Bookseller Inventory # 150446

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Foreign Correspondent -- A Memoir

Publisher: Simon and Schuster, New York

Publication Date: 2014

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:As New

Dust Jacket Condition: As New

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David Greenway was at the White House the day Kennedy was assassinated. He was in the jungles of Vietnam in that war’s most dangerous days, and left Saigon by helicopter from the American embassy as the city was falling. He was with Sean Flynn when Flynn decided to get an entire New Guinea village high on hash, and with him hours before he disappeared in Cambodia. He escorted John le Carre around South East Asia as he researched The Honourable Schoolboy. He was wounded in Vietnam and awarded a Bronze Star for rescuing a Marine. He was with Sidney Schanberg and Dith Pran in Phnom Penh before the city descended into the killing fields of the Khmer Rouge. Greenway covered Sadat in Jerusalem, civil war and bombing in Lebanon, ethnic cleansing and genocide the Balkans, the Gulf Wars (both), and reported from Afghanistan and Iraq as they collapsed into civil war.

This is a great adventure story—the life of a war correspondent on the front lines for five decades, eye-witness to come of the most violent and heroic scenes in recent history.

About the Author:

H.D.S. Greenway has reported from 96 countries, and covered conflicts in Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Lebanon, Israel, Iraq, Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, and the former Yugoslavia. He has been a contributing columnist for The Boston Globe, The International Herald Tribune, and Global Post, and has been a foreign correspondent for The Washington Post and Time magazine. He lives with his wife, JB Greenway, in Needham, Massachusetts. 

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Books First: Collectable modern American,British and international literary first editions; mysteries and crime; fiction and non-fiction on Vietnam; travel and adventure; and a smattering of oldies, history, politics, culture, poetry and humor.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

*** NOW YOU CAN PAY DIRECTLY BY CREDIT CARD THROUGH PAYPAL.COM. SIMPLY CLICK ON
AND FOLLOW THE PROMPTS, USING MY EMAIL TO ADDRESS YOUR PAYMENT. Books may be
returned within five working days in same condition. Notice of intent to return
appreciated. Free postage for most media mail domestic orders. Heavier or
outsize books may require a premium charge for extra postage. First class, air or
overseas postage billed at cost. ou can pay by personal check, credit card or
money order in American dolla...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. I pay postage for all USA domestic orders via media mail, unless weight requires extra postage. I also supply tracking numbers for all domestic orders.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order