Stock Image

Fortune's World

Collins, Michael; Collins, Micheal

8 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1885941455 / ISBN 13: 9781885941459
Published by Crippen & Landru Pub, Norfolk, Virginia, U.S.A., 2000
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Conover Books (Rochelle, IL, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since June 10, 2004 Seller Rating 5-star rating

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 60.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99 Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

A very crisp and clean signed first edition, almost new and unread condition, gift quality! Signed and numbered 121 by the author! This is a very very rare and hard-to-find signed Limited Edition! Dj is nicely preserved in a brand new protective mylar plastic cover! 250 very clean, unmarked and uncreased suspense-filled pages! "This Limited Edition of Fortune's World by Michael Collins is one of 200 clothbound copies signed and numbered by the author. Accompanying each copy is a separately printed pamphlet, The Dreamer, a Slot-Machine Kelly Story by Michael Collins. The world of one-armed private investigator Dan Fortune (born Fortunowski) is filled with danger, deceit ---- and striking contrasts. The 14 stories in Fortune's World range from the mean streets of New York City's Chelsea district, to the bleak winter world of Syracuse, New York, to sunny and sometimes violent South America, to Santa Barbara, California, where Fortune now has his office. And the contrasts are not only in the settings, for Michael Collins is aware of the inequitities in modern society, and his stories are dominated by a social conscience rare in popular literature." Size: 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 024406

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Fortune's World

Publisher: Crippen & Landru Pub, Norfolk, Virginia, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 2000

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: First Edition / First Printing.

About this title


Fourteen classic private-eye stories (including one written especially for this book) about one-armed private investigator Dan Fortune, whose world is filled with danger, deceit -- and striking contrasts. Edgar-Winner Michael Collins is aware of the inequities in modern society, and his stories are dominated by a social conscience rare in popular literature. The book includes an introduction by Professor Richard Carpenter, prefaces to each story by the author, and a complete checklist of Dan Fortune novels and short stories.

About the Author:

Michael Collins won the Mystery Writers of America's Edgar for Best First Novel for the first Dan Fortune book, Act of Fear published in 1967.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express credit cards accepted. We also accept Bankdrafts, Money Orders, Paypal and personal checks (book will not be sent til check clears). We offer a full book guarantee, if for any reason a customer is not satisfied with their purchase, they may return their purchase for a full refund *NOTE: Return policy includes full reimbursement for the book (books) purchased excluding all shipping costs which are the responsibility of the purchaser. Conover Books w...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order PayPal Bank Draft