Freedom Summer: The Savage Season of 1964 That Made Mississippi Burn and Made America a Democracy

ISBN 10: 0670021709 / ISBN 13: 9780670021703
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Shows signs of typical ownership; clean, unmarked page block; some obvious, but superficial wear to cover and extremities. Signed by the Author. Either not dedicated, or dedication is not personalized. Flat-signed. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.11 avg rating
(1,101 ratings)

Synopsis: A majestic history of the summer of '64, which forever changed race relations in America

In the summer of 1964, with the civil rights movement stalled, seven hundred college students descended on Mississippi to register black voters, teach in Freedom Schools, and live in sharecroppers' shacks. But by the time their first night in the state had ended, three volunteers were dead, black churches had burned, and America had a new definition of freedom.

This remarkable chapter in American history, the basis for the controversial film Mississippi Burning, is now the subject of Bruce Watson's thoughtful and riveting historical narrative. Using in- depth interviews with participants and residents, Watson brilliantly captures the tottering legacy of Jim Crow in Mississippi and the chaos that brought such national figures as Martin Luther King Jr. and Pete Seeger to the state. Freedom Summer presents finely rendered portraits of the courageous black citizens-and Northern volunteers-who refused to be intimidated in their struggle for justice, and the white Mississippians who would kill to protect a dying way of life. Few books have provided such an intimate look at race relations during the deadliest days of the Civil Rights movement, and Freedom Summer will appeal to readers of Taylor Branch and Doug Blackmon.

About the Author: Bruce Watson is an award-winning journalist whose articles have been published in Smithsonian, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, San Francisco Examiner, Yankee Magazine, and The Best American Science and Nature Writing 2003.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Freedom Summer: The Savage Season of 1964 ...
Book Condition: Collectible-VeryGood

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bruce Watson
Published by Viking Adult (2010)
ISBN 10: 0670021709 ISBN 13: 9780670021703
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult, 2010. Condition: Good. First Edition (stated). Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP94703715

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Bruce Watson
Published by Penguin Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0670021709 ISBN 13: 9780670021703
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Publishing Group. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Very good condition - book only shows a small amount of wear. Seller Inventory # G0670021709I4N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Bruce Watson
Published by Penguin Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0670021709 ISBN 13: 9780670021703
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Green Earth
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Publishing Group. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Light shelving wear with minimal damage to cover and bindings. Pages show minor use. Seller Inventory # G0670021709I3N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Bruce Watson
Published by Penguin Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0670021709 ISBN 13: 9780670021703
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Silver Arch
(St Louis, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Publishing Group. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book has a small amount of wear visible on the binding, cover, pages. Seller Inventory # G0670021709I3N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Bruce Watson
Published by Penguin Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0670021709 ISBN 13: 9780670021703
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Yankee Clipper
(Windsor Locks, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Publishing Group. Hardcover. Condition: Fair. Seller Inventory # G0670021709I5N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Bruce Watson
Published by Penguin Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0670021709 ISBN 13: 9780670021703
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Blue Cloud
(Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Publishing Group. Hardcover. Condition: Good. This book has a light amount of wear to the pages, cover and binding. Seller Inventory # G0670021709I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Bruce Watson
Published by Penguin Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0670021709 ISBN 13: 9780670021703
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Squared
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Publishing Group. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Only lightly used. Book has minimal wear to cover and binding. A few pages may have small creases and minimal underlining. Seller Inventory # G0670021709I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Bruce Watson
Published by Penguin Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0670021709 ISBN 13: 9780670021703
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Second City
(Aurora, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Publishing Group. Hardcover. Condition: Fair. Dust Cover Missing. Seller Inventory # G0670021709I5N01

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Bruce Watson
Published by Penguin Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0670021709 ISBN 13: 9780670021703
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Publishing Group. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Light shelf wear and minimal interior marks. Seller Inventory # G0670021709I3N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Watson, Bruce
Published by Viking
ISBN 10: 0670021709 ISBN 13: 9780670021703
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking. Condition: Acceptable. Former Library book. Hardcover The item is fairly worn but still readable. Signs of wear include aesthetic issues such as scratches, worn covers, damaged binding. The item may have identifying markings on it or show other signs of previous use. May have page creases, creased spine, bent cover or markings inside. Packed with care, shipped promptly. Seller Inventory # P-06-1069

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 28 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book