Stock Image

The Future of Modern Music: A Philosophical Exploration of Modernist Music in the 20th Century and Beyond McHard, James L.

1 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0977819515 / ISBN 13: 9780977819515
New Condition: New Soft cover
From Miriam Rose Books (Claremont, NH, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since January 8, 1999 Seller Rating 4-star rating

Quantity Available: 1

Buy New
List Price: US$ 19.95
Price: US$ 125.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

3rd edition; brand new gift-quality trade paperback (Iconic Pr., 2008, 413 pages; ISBN 9780977819515) as pictured; pages pristine, tight, unmarked; binding sound, spine uncreased; no wear of any kind; on its way to you the same or next day in bubblewrap; email confirmation; standard (media) mail takes 4-14 days; expedited (priority) mail takes 2-5 days; international orders go by airmail (6-10 days). Bookseller Inventory # 0613N3KU277

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Future of Modern Music: A Philosophical ...

Binding: Paperback Apr 01, 2008

Book Condition:New

About this title


A selective survey of the major pioneering composers of the 20th century, this resource focuses on the development of the new emphases in music creation, including tone color and density elements which prior to 1900 had been subordinated in their treatment and given secondary importance compared to melody and harmony. In addition to presenting general biographies and a list of each of the 123 featured composer’s most prominent works, this sourcebook examines the philosophies and the aesthetic considerations behind the new techniques involved in these primary treatments of density and timbre. From Claude Debussy, Gustav Mahler, and Karlheinz Stockhausen to Julio Estrada, Luigi Russolo, and Otomo Yoshihide, this review provides a means of understanding and appreciating the music predominant in the repertoires of most major, modern-day orchestras.

About the Author:

James L. McHard is a freelance composer, lecturer, and author on music history. A fellow in the American Biographical Institute–Great Minds of the 21st Century, he has also been recognized by Great Britain's International Biographical Association's–Great Intellects of the 21st Century. He lives in Livonia, Michigan.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Miriam Rose Books 34 High Street Claremont, NH 03743 10,000 volumes Mail order only

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Please use your credit or debit card when placing your order via AbeBooks.
PayPal, check, or money order also accepted.
$4 postage for first volume, $2 for each additional volume.
Priority mail: $6.99 for first volume.

Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order