Stock Image

The Garden of the Peacocks

Anthony Weller, Signed

Published by Marlowe & Co April 1998, 1998
ISBN 10: 1569246963 / ISBN 13: 9781569246962
/ Condition: Fine (F) / Hardcover
Quantity Available: 1
From Don Quixote Book Sellers (Sparta, NJ, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 30.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Return Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: The Garden of the Peacocks

Publisher: Marlowe & Co April 1998

Publication Date: 1998

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Fine (F)

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed By Author

Edition: First Edition.

Description:

SIGNED BY AUTHOR Very collectable condition. Appears unread, crisp, clean, bright and tight. First Edition, First printing. Now protected with Durafold unattached to jacket. Near fine book/Near Fine Dust Jacket. BEAUTIFUL copy. Satisfaction guarantee. An American photographer on assignment on a remote Bahamian isle becomes involved with the daughter of a renowned Cuban artist long believed dead, whom his daughter blames for her mother's suicide. A first novel. ' Passionate, mysterious, and magical, like its island setting. A wonderful debut' (Paul Theroux). Bookseller Inventory # 6558

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.83 avg rating
(6 ratings)

Synopsis: Anthony Weller's debut, The Garden of the Peacocks, is an exquisite and intricate novel that ranges from Havana to New York, Barcelona, and the Bahamas. Spanning five decades, it follows a father and daughter haunted by artistic genius, exile and suicide. In the tradition of W. Somerset Maugham's The Moon and Sixpence and Joyce Cary's The Horse's Mouth, it illuminates unforgettably the sacrifices and deep contradictions behind great art - and the heavy price paid for immortal beauty by those around it.

Product Description: An American photographer on assignment on a remote Bahamian isle becomes involved with the daughter of a renowned Cuban artist long believed dead, whom his daughter blames for her mother's suicide. A first novel. Tour. IP.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Seller a Question]

Bookseller: Don Quixote Book Sellers
Address: Sparta, NJ, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: April 16, 2008
Bookseller Rating: 2-star rating

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as
Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 48 hours of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about
a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to
contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.



Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG and with an average shipping distance . If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. For International shipping they should call for shipping amount.


Store Description: Husband and wife that has been collecting for Fifty years more or less and now are also book sellers. Mostly first Edition. We specialize on books of Mystery, Fantasy, Sci-fi. Romance, Biography, Art, Coffee table, Poetry, literature, Humor, Kids books, Pop-ups, Advance copies,Comic Books BUT our specialty is on HISTORY and MILITARY History.