Gerald Finzi: An English Composer

Banfield, Stephen

Published by Faber, 1998
ISBN 10: 0571195989 / ISBN 13: 9780571195985
Used / Soft cover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Very large octavo paperback. xiv, 571 pp. Black and white illustrations and printed musical examples in text. Slightly rubbed at edges, otherwise Very Good condition. No inscriptions. No dust jacket. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.67 avg rating
(3 ratings)

Synopsis: This is a biography of a composer whose music is rooted in the tradition of Elgar, Parry, Vaughan Williams and those composers in the opening decades of the 20th century for whom song writing was a principal means of expression. Finzi is now seen as he may have seen himself - as an artist whose limitations were innate and whose pastoral or provincial lifestyle and aspirations would reflect those limitations whilst somehow invalidating them.

About the Author: Stephen Banfield is currently Stanley Hugh Badock Professor of Music at the University of Bristol. From 1992 to 2003 he was Elgar Professor of Music at the University of Birmingham. His highly acclaimed biography of Gerald Finzi was published by Faber in 1997, and he is also the author of Sensibility and English Song, Sondheim's Broadway Musicals and editor of the twentieth-century volume of The Blackwell History of Music in Britain

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Gerald Finzi: An English Composer
Publisher: Faber
Publication Date: 1998
Binding: Soft cover
Book Condition: Very Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

BANFIELD, Stephen
Published by Faber and Faber (1998)
ISBN 10: 0571195989 ISBN 13: 9780571195985
Used Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Austin Sherlaw-Johnson, Secondhand Music
(Stonesfield, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber and Faber, 1998. Soft cover. Condition: Very Good. Some wear from reading: spine creased. Seller Inventory # 010419

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.31
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Banfield, Stephen
Published by Faber & Faber
ISBN 10: 0571195989 ISBN 13: 9780571195985
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Buckle's Books
(Cambridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber & Faber. PAPERBACK. Condition: Good. 0571195989 Paperback. Some wear to covers and spine otherwise no damage, internally clean. Very good - condition. Seller Inventory # K10G50042

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 13.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.30
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Banfield , Stephen
Published by Faber & Faber, London (1998)
ISBN 10: 0571195989 ISBN 13: 9780571195985
Used Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Sharston Books
(Manchester, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber & Faber, London, 1998. Soft cover. Condition: Very Good. Good condition, clean and bright internally, book has slight shelf wear with a few creases on the cover and spine. Published in 1998. Seller Inventory # 5010065

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 13.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.30
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Stephen Banfield
Published by Faber & Faber (2000)
ISBN 10: 0571195989 ISBN 13: 9780571195985
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Minden, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber & Faber, 2000. Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Seller Inventory # 0571195989-2-4

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 18.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Stephen Banfield
Published by Faber & Faber (2000)
ISBN 10: 0571195989 ISBN 13: 9780571195985
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber & Faber, 2000. Paperback. Condition: Used: Good. Seller Inventory # SONG0571195989

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 15.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Banfield, Stephen
ISBN 10: 0571195989 ISBN 13: 9780571195985
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Seller Inventory # GOR002642737

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 19.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

BANFIELD Stephen
Published by Faber and Faber, 1998. 0571195989 (1998)
ISBN 10: 0571195989 ISBN 13: 9780571195985
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rothwell & Dunworth (ABA, ILAB)
(Dulverton, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber and Faber, 1998. 0571195989, 1998. Tall 8vo. Original pictorial card covers (softback) (spine creased). Pp. xiv + 571, illus with b&w photos (no inscriptions). Seller Inventory # 112282

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 20.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Stephen Banfield
Published by Faber and Faber, London (1998)
ISBN 10: 0571195989 ISBN 13: 9780571195985
Used Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
R J Caffrey Books
(Kintbury, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber and Faber, London, 1998. Soft cover. Condition: Very Good. Unread condition. Seller Inventory # 010155

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 20.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 13.30
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Banfield, Stephen
Published by Faber & Faber (1998)
ISBN 10: 0571195989 ISBN 13: 9780571195985
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
East Riding Books
(East Yorkshire., United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber & Faber, 1998. Hardcover. 571pp, 8 plates, music examples. Ex library, minimal stamps else very good in very good dust jacket. Heavy book, extra postage will be requested for delivery outside UK. Seller Inventory # 7623

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 23.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.97
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Banfield, Stephen
Published by Faber & Faber (1998)
ISBN 10: 0571195989 ISBN 13: 9780571195985
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
East Riding Books
(East Yorkshire., United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber & Faber, 1998. Hardcover. Condition: Near Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine. 571pp, 8 plates, music examples. Heavy book, extra postage will be requested for delivery outside UK. Seller Inventory # 7622

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 27.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.97
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 5 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book