Girl at War: A Novel

Novic, Sara

Published by Random House, 2015
ISBN 10: 0812996348 / ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Signed new copy, opened only for signing. Dust jacket protected. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.98 avg rating
(15,122 ratings)

Synopsis: NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE ALEX AWARD WINNER LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST  LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN?S PRIZE FOR FICTION

For readers of The Tiger?s Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl?s coming of age?and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.


Zagreb, 1991. Ana Juri? is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia?s capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana?s idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana?s sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world.

New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she?s tried to move on from her past, she can?t escape her memories of war?secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country?s difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before.

Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Novi? fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl?and its legacy on all of us. It?s a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today.

Praise for Girl at War

?Outstanding . . . Girl at War performs the miracle of making the stories of broken lives in a distant country feel as large and universal as myth.??The New York Times Book Review (Editor?s Choice)

?[An] old-fashioned page-turner that will demand all of the reader?s attention, happily given. A debut novel that astonishes.??Vanity Fair

?Shattering . . . The book begins with what deserves to become one of contemporary literature?s more memorable opening lines. The sentences that follow are equally as lyrical as a folk lament and as taut as metal wire wrapped through an electrified fence.??USA Today

?Gripping . . . Novi?, in tender and eloquent prose, explores the challenge of how to live even after one has survived.??O: The Oprah Magazine

?Powerful and vividly wrought . . . Novi? writes about horrors with an elegant understatement. In cool, accomplished sentences, we are met with the gravity, brutality and even the mundaneness of war and loss as well as the enduring capacity to live.??San Francisco Chronicle

?Intimate and immense . . . a writer whose own gravity and talent anchor this novel.??The New York Times

?An important and profoundly moving reading experience.??The National

?Remarkable.??Julia Glass, The Boston Globe

?[A] powerful, gorgeous debut novel.??Adam Johnson, The Week

?An unforgettable portrait of how war forever changes the life of the individual . . . a writer working with deep reserves of talent, heart, and mind.??Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story

About the Author: Sara Novi? was born in 1987 and has lived in the United States and Croatia. She is a graduate of the MFA program at Columbia University, where she studied fiction and translation. She is the fiction editor at Blunderbuss Magazine and teaches writing at the Fashion Institute of Technology and Columbia University. She lives in Queens, New York.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Girl at War: A Novel
Publisher: Random House
Publication Date: 2015
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: New
Edition: 1st Edition

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Novic, Sara
Published by Random House (2015)
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2015. Book Condition: Good. 1st. N/A. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP85662617

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sara Novic
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. book was well loved but cared for. Possible ex-library copy with all the usual markings and stickers. Some light textual notes, highlighting and underling. Bookseller Inventory # 2771198007

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Big Hearted Books
(Sharon, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Good. This item is in good condition. All pages and covers are readable. There are no stains or tears. Dust jacket is present if applicable. May contain small amounts of writing and/or highlighting. Spine and cover may show signs of wear. May not contain supplementary items such as CD's or DVD's. We ship within 1 business day. Bookseller Inventory # 34FD1E0016DO

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Novic, Sara
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Goodwill Discount Books
(North Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Book Condition: Good. Good shape, medium wear. shows little to no wear. Unless otherwise noted any CDs are not included. Bookseller Inventory # 39-A-005296

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Novic, Sara
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Hawking Books
(Lake Arrowhead, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. 0812996348 Very Good Condition. Has some wear. Five star seller - Buy with confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # Z0812996348Z2

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Novic, Sara
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Campusbookexchange
(Richmond, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fine. 0812996348. Bookseller Inventory # SKU1000715

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Novic, Sara
Published by Random House 2015-05-12 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 2
Seller
high_country_books
(Silverthorne, CO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House 2015-05-12, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. 1st. 0812996348 Hardcover book that is a former library item with typical library markings. This book has little wear to the exterior. The text is clean throughout. Nice reader copy. Fast shipping!. Bookseller Inventory # Z388014

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Novic, Sara
Published by Random House 2015-05-12 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House 2015-05-12, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780812996340B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Sara Novic
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Very Good. Book Condition: Very Good. Bookseller Inventory # 97808129963403.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 9.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Sara Novic
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Like New. Book Condition: Like New. Bookseller Inventory # 97808129963402.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 9.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 17 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book