Stock Image

Girl at War

Novic, Sara

Published by Little, Brown, U.S.A., 2015
ISBN 10: 1408706547 / ISBN 13: 9781408706541
/ Condition: As New / Hardcover
Quantity Available: 1
From MacFinn's Books (Shenandoah, IA, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 40.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Return Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: Girl at War

Publisher: Little, Brown, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 2015

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: As New

Dust Jacket Condition: As New

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition

Description:

1st edition/1st printing in as new, unread condition. Signed and dated by the author on the title page. No condition problems. Mylar covered. Bookseller Inventory # 000350

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.98 avg rating
(15,139 ratings)

Synopsis: NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE · ALEX AWARD WINNER · LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST · LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN?S PRIZE FOR FICTION

For readers of The Tiger?s Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl?s coming of age?and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.


Zagreb, 1991. Ana Juri? is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia?s capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana?s idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana?s sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world.

New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she?s tried to move on from her past, she can?t escape her memories of war?secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country?s difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before.

Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Novi? fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl?and its legacy on all of us. It?s a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today.

Praise for Girl at War

?Outstanding . . . Girl at War performs the miracle of making the stories of broken lives in a distant country feel as large and universal as myth.??The New York Times Book Review (Editor?s Choice)

?[An] old-fashioned page-turner that will demand all of the reader?s attention, happily given. A debut novel that astonishes.??Vanity Fair

?Shattering . . . The book begins with what deserves to become one of contemporary literature?s more memorable opening lines. The sentences that follow are equally as lyrical as a folk lament and as taut as metal wire wrapped through an electrified fence.??USA Today

?Gripping . . . Novi?, in tender and eloquent prose, explores the challenge of how to live even after one has survived.??O: The Oprah Magazine

?Powerful and vividly wrought . . . Novi? writes about horrors with an elegant understatement. In cool, accomplished sentences, we are met with the gravity, brutality and even the mundaneness of war and loss as well as the enduring capacity to live.??San Francisco Chronicle

?Intimate and immense . . . a writer whose own gravity and talent anchor this novel.??The New York Times

?An important and profoundly moving reading experience.??The National

?Remarkable.??Julia Glass, The Boston Globe

?[A] powerful, gorgeous debut novel.??Adam Johnson, The Week

?An unforgettable portrait of how war forever changes the life of the individual . . . a writer working with deep reserves of talent, heart, and mind.??Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story
From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author: Sara Novi? was born in 1987 and has lived in the United States and Croatia. She is a graduate of the MFA program at Columbia University, where she studied fiction and translation. She is the fiction editor at Blunderbuss Magazine and teaches writing at the Fashion Institute of Technology and Columbia University. She lives in Queens, New York.
From the Hardcover edition.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • Bank Draft
  • Check
  • MasterCard
  • Money Order
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Seller a Question]

Bookseller: MacFinn's Books
Address: Shenandoah, IA, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: March 16, 2012
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described
on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your
purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if
the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you¿ve
changed your mind about a book that you¿ve ordered, please
use the [Ask bookseller a question] link to contact us and
we'll respond within 2 business days.



Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.