Stock Image

Goat

Brad Land

1,384 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0715633341 / ISBN 13: 9780715633342
Published by Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd, 2004
Condition: Good Hardcover
From Books Express (Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since August 14, 2015 Seller Rating 4-star rating

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 80.17 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. May be ex-library. Shipping & Handling by region. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Bookseller Inventory # 0715633341

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Goat

Publisher: Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd

Publication Date: 2004

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Good

About this title

Synopsis:

A US bestseller, Goat is a harrowing memoir in the tradition of Dave Eggers' A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius, Augusten Burroughs' Running With Scissors and James Frey's A Million Little Pieces Reeling from a terrifying assault that has left him physically injured and psychologically shattered, nineteen-year-old Brad Land must also contend with unsympathetic local police, parents who can barely discuss 'the incident' (as they call it), a brother riddled with guilt but unable to slow down enough for Brad to keep up, and the feeling that he'll never be normal again. When Brad's brother enrols at Clemson University and pledges a fraternity, Brad believes he's being left behind once and for all. Desperate to belong, he follows. What happens there - in the name of 'brotherhood,' and with the supposed goal of forging a scholar and a gentleman from the raw materials of boyhood - involves torturous late-night hazing, heartbreaking estrangement from his brother, and, finally, the death of a fellow pledge. Ultimately, Brad must weigh up total alienation from his newfound community against accepting a form of brutality he already knows too well. A searing memoir of masculinity, violence, and brotherhood, Goat provides an unprecedented window into the emotional landscape of young men and introduces a writer of grace and power.

About the Author:

Brad Land studied Creative Writing at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, where he received his M.F.A., and Western Michigan University, where he served as non-fiction editor of Third Coast. He has been a fellow at the MacDowell Colony and now lives in South Carolina.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Buy with confidence. Excellent customer service. 30 day return policy.

Books Express LLC
318 US Route 1, STE 2
Kittery ME 03904


Shipping Terms:

Standard and expedited shipping options include shipping and handling costs. Default shipping is by USPS Media Mail and frequently USPS Priority Mail or UPS Ground is used. Books should arrive within 10-14 business days for expedited shipping, and 20-30 business days for standard shipping. Standard shipping can on occasion take up to 30 days for delivery.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order PayPal Invoice Bank Draft Bank/Wire Transfer Direct Debit (Personally Authorized Payment)