Gods and Heroes: Baltimore Stories

Gerard Marconi

Published by Booklocker.com, Inc.
ISBN 10: 1614347123 / ISBN 13: 9781614347125
Used / Paperback / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

288 pages. Dimensions: 8.4in. x 5.5in. x 0.8in.This novel of linked stories follows two unforgettable characters from childhood through adolescence into adulthood with a provocative look at love, sex, and religion. Set in a blue collar neighborhood of Baltimore during the 1960s and 70s, it unfolds cinematically with short chapters told from several points of view. Both tender and humorous, blasphemous and profound, it shows how two young people attempt to wrench meaning from adversity and find happiness together despite their differences. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.67 avg rating
(3 ratings)

Synopsis: This novel of linked stories follows two unforgettable characters from childhood through adolescence into adulthood with a provocative look at love, sex, and religion. Set in a blue collar neighborhood of Baltimore during the 1960's and 70's, it unfolds cinematically with short chapters told from several points of view. Both tender and humorous, blasphemous and profound, it shows how two young people attempt to wrench meaning from adversity and find happiness together despite their differences.

From the Author: Among the gods and heroes who inspired this book are Philip and Daniel Berrigan, priests and brothers whose courageous actions spared some Baltimoreans from being drafted during the Vietnam War; also numerous authors of fiction who have written about life in Baltimore over the years, from Edgar Allan Poe and F. Scott Fitzgerald to Anne Tyler and Laura Lippman; and Paul Simon, whose music captured not only the sensibility of an era but expressed the aspirations of an entire generation. In the tradition of Barry Levinson and John Waters I have tried to capture what is unique about growing up in Baltimore. Consequently the novel is filled with quirky characters and places of local interest, but the appeal of the story is truly universal: how ordinary people deal with love, loss, family, and friends, told in the context of the time period that some of us remember as the sixties and seventies.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Gods and Heroes: Baltimore Stories
Publisher: Booklocker.com, Inc.
Binding: Paperback
Book Condition: New

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Marconi, Gerard
Published by Booklocker.com, Inc.
ISBN 10: 1614347123 ISBN 13: 9781614347125
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Maryland Book Bank
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Booklocker.com, Inc. Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # 2-R-3-0141

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 1.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Gerard Marconi
Published by Booklocker.com, Inc. (2011)
ISBN 10: 1614347123 ISBN 13: 9781614347125
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Booklocker.com, Inc., 2011. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1614347123

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Gerard Marconi
Published by Booklocker.com, Inc. (2011)
ISBN 10: 1614347123 ISBN 13: 9781614347125
Used Trade Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Escape
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Booklocker.com, Inc., 2011. Trade Paperback. Condition: Very Good. Signed and inscribed by author on title page. Book has no visible wear. ***Ships today or next business day. Our books are carefully described and packaged in boxes (not envelopes). A gift card and personalized message can be included upon request.***. Seller Inventory # 223326

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 10.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Gerard Marconi
Published by Booklocker.com, Inc. (2011)
ISBN 10: 1614347123 ISBN 13: 9781614347125
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Booklocker.com, Inc., 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 1614347123n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 85.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds