Stock Image

A Handwritten Modern Classic

Moorhead, Finola

2 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 174219799X / ISBN 13: 9781742197999
New Condition: New
From Paperbackshop-US (Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since April 7, 2005

Quantity Available: > 20

Buy New
List Price: US$ 24.95
Price: US$ 19.05 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # TI-9781742197999

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: A Handwritten Modern Classic

Publication Date: 2013

Binding: PAP

Book Condition:New

About this title

Synopsis:

Gertrude Stein in her 1926 lecture on Composition as Explanation wrote: "The creator of the new composition in the arts is an outlaw, until [s]he is a classic..."

In the tradition of Gertrude Stein, Finola Moorhead set about writing A Handwritten Modern Classic in 1977. The result ismusings and criticisms dwells on protestors clashing with police over freeways, political change, conservatism, Malcolm Fraser, what love can do for you, and whether the old hate the young. With discussions on the politics of suicide and unshaven armpits, one of Australia's most intriguing experimental writers has set her thoughts to writing, with mention of such famed writers as Socrates and Jane Austen, Coleridge and Tolstoy, as well as the battles between romanticism and jingoism in Australian writing. The book also brings up issues such as imperialism in language use, popularity in writing, and giving in to what the market wants from literary creation. Written—by hand—in the tradition of European and American manifestos, this document challenges readers and writers alike not to fall for a romantic view of the world.

About the Author:

Finola Moorhead is a playwright, poet, and writer. She is the author of numerous books, including Darkness More Visible, My Voice, Quilt, Remember the Tarantella, and the award-winning Still Murder.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Paperbackshop-US are an established bookseller who have been serving customers worldwide since 2000. With warehouses in the US and the UK, Paperbackshop-US have a huge range of titles to offer including old favourites, out of print books and the latest best sellers.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Ordering - Please place your order via the AbeBooks website and allow 2 working days for dispatch from our US warehouse. Delivery thereafter is 4 to 14 business days. Returns - We hope you will be delighted with everything you buy from us. However, if you do need to return an item to us, we kindly ask that goods are returned in their original condition within 14 days of receipt. In this instance the return cost must be borne by the buyer. In the event you receive an item which is not as advertis...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Books are shipped from our US or UK warehouses. Delivery estimates allow for delivery from either location.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express