More than Happy: The Wisdom of Amish Parenting

Serena B. Miller

Published by Howard Books, 2016
ISBN 10: 1501143603 / ISBN 13: 9781501143601
Used / Paperback / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! L. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.97 avg rating
(348 ratings)

Synopsis: In the tradition of Bringing Up Bebe and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, an in-depth look at the practices and principles of Amish parents and how they raise children who are self-sufficient, hard-working, and remarkably happy.

The more time Serena Miller spent in Holmes County, Ohio, doing research for her popular Amish novels, the more she began to notice something—Amish children were the happiest children she’d ever seen. Despite not having modern toys and conveniences, they are joyful, serene, calm, and respectful—not to mention whipping up full meals and driving buggies before most of us will allow our children to walk to school alone. And yet, when she started asking questions about what these parents were doing differently, she was startled to learn that happiness is not a goal Amish strive for at all.

In More Than Happy Miller uncovers many surprising insights, including the significance of real responsibilities, the wisdom of unplugging from technology, the value of unstructured time to play, the importance of firm rules, and the importance of each teenager’s freedom to decide what is best for their future.

Full of practical takeaways, More Than Happy shows you how to apply the basic principles and parenting techniques the Amish use, so you can raise happy, well-adjusted kids.

About the Author: Prior to writing novels, Serena Miller wrote for many periodicals, including Woman’s World, Guideposts, Billy Graham’s Decision Magazine, Reader’s Digest, Focus on the Family, Christian Woman, and The Detroit Free Press Magazine. She has spent many years partnering with her husband in full-time ministry and lives on a farm in southern Ohio near a thriving Amish community.

Paul Stutzman was born into an Amish family in Holmes County, Ohio. Shortly after his birth, his family left the Amish lifestyle and joined a strict Conservative Mennonite church. Paul continued to live among and mingle with his Amish friends and relatives his entire life, married a Mennonite girl, and remained in the Amish community working and raising a family. He is the author of Hiking Through, a memoir about the Appalachian Trail. He lives in central Ohio and can be found at PaulStutzman.com.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: More than Happy: The Wisdom of Amish ...
Publisher: Howard Books
Publication Date: 2016
Binding: Paperback
Book Condition: Used: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Miller, Serena B.
Published by Howard Books 2016-05-10 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1501143603 ISBN 13: 9781501143601
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Howard Books 2016-05-10, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9781501143601B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Published by Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 1501143603 ISBN 13: 9781501143601
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon and Schuster. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 1501143603

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Miller, Serena B.
ISBN 10: 1501143603 ISBN 13: 9781501143601
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2016. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VS-9781501143601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Serena B. Miller
Published by SIMON SCHUSTER, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 1501143603 ISBN 13: 9781501143601
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description SIMON SCHUSTER, United States, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Bringing Up Bebe and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, an in-depth look at the practices and principles of Amish parents and how they raise children who are self-sufficient, hard-working, and remarkably happy. The more time Serena Miller spent in Holmes County, Ohio, doing research for her popular Amish novels, the more she began to notice something--Amish children were the happiest children she d ever seen. Despite not having modern toys and conveniences, they are joyful, serene, calm, and respectful--not to mention whipping up full meals and driving buggies before most of us will allow our children to walk to school alone. And yet, when she started asking questions about what these parents were doing differently, she was startled to learn that happiness is not a goal Amish strive for at all. In More Than Happy Miller uncovers many surprising insights, including the significance of real responsibilities, the wisdom of unplugging from technology, the value of unstructured time to play, the importance of firm rules, and the importance of each teenager s freedom to decide what is best for their future. Full of practical takeaways, More Than Happy shows you how to apply the basic principles and parenting techniques the Amish use, so you can raise happy, well-adjusted kids. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9781501143601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Serena B Miller
Published by Howard Books
ISBN 10: 1501143603 ISBN 13: 9781501143601
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Howard Books. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9781501143601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Miller, Serena B.
Published by Howard Books 5/10/2016 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1501143603 ISBN 13: 9781501143601
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Howard Books 5/10/2016, 2016. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. More Than Happy: The Wisdom of Amish Parenting. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9781501143601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Miller, Serena B.
Published by Howard Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1501143603 ISBN 13: 9781501143601
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Howard Books, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 1501143603

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Serena B. Miller
Published by SIMON SCHUSTER, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 1501143603 ISBN 13: 9781501143601
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description SIMON SCHUSTER, United States, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Bringing Up Bebe and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, an in-depth look at the practices and principles of Amish parents and how they raise children who are self-sufficient, hard-working, and remarkably happy. The more time Serena Miller spent in Holmes County, Ohio, doing research for her popular Amish novels, the more she began to notice something--Amish children were the happiest children she d ever seen. Despite not having modern toys and conveniences, they are joyful, serene, calm, and respectful--not to mention whipping up full meals and driving buggies before most of us will allow our children to walk to school alone. And yet, when she started asking questions about what these parents were doing differently, she was startled to learn that happiness is not a goal Amish strive for at all. In More Than Happy Miller uncovers many surprising insights, including the significance of real responsibilities, the wisdom of unplugging from technology, the value of unstructured time to play, the importance of firm rules, and the importance of each teenager s freedom to decide what is best for their future. Full of practical takeaways, More Than Happy shows you how to apply the basic principles and parenting techniques the Amish use, so you can raise happy, well-adjusted kids. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9781501143601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Miller, Serena B.
Published by Howard Books
ISBN 10: 1501143603 ISBN 13: 9781501143601
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Howard Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: Fine. 1501143603 *LIKE NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI851605

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 10.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Miller, Serena B.
Published by Howard Books
ISBN 10: 1501143603 ISBN 13: 9781501143601
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Howard Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1501143603 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI850630

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 14 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book