Stock Image

House of the Deaf

Herrin, Lamar

Published by Unbridled Books, 2005., 2005
ISBN 10: 1932961119 / ISBN 13: 9781932961119
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 1
From B. Rossi, Bindlestiff Books (Altoona, PA, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 47.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Return Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: House of the Deaf

Publisher: Unbridled Books, 2005.

Publication Date: 2005

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition

Description:

(ISBN 1-932961-11-9) Stated first edition. Signed by the author. "A finely wrought novel of near-mystical dimensions." — William Kennedy. "With a depth of characterization and a delicacy of observation recalling James Salter, Lamar Herrin takes the reader along on history-haunted Ben Williamson's pilgrimage to Spain. 'House of the Deaf' locates the often painful place where, against our will, the personal becomes political." — Stewart O'Nan, author of "The Good Wife." "Lamar Herrin has always written beautifully. Now, in a manner reminiscent of J.M. Coetzee, he looks at the effect of contemporary political violence on one particular family. 'House of the Deaf' is a powerful, poetic, and suspenseful book." — Lorrie Moore. "Lamar Herrin redefines vengeance and innocence in 'House of the Deaf,' a tale of political violence in which the life-blood of the spirit confronts the cold blood of the terrorist — a finely wrought novel of near-mystical dimension." — William Kennedy. From the author of the highly praised novel "The Lies Boys Tell" comes a heartfelt story of loss, vengeance, and renewal in a spiraling world of political violence — A thrilling personal quest that rises straight from today's headlines. "House of the Deaf" is a haunting, beautiful story about one man's painful brush with terrorism and his essential pursuit of real answers. But it is also the story of a grieving daughter and sister who must race across two cultures to rescue her father and reclaim her own life. Writing in the tradition of Graham Greene and Paul Bowles, lauded American Lamar Herrin brings to this powerful novel both a deeply personal sense of Spanish culture and a boundless compassion. Fine tight copy, unread, near fine shiny jacket. Novel. Bookseller Inventory # erusIS4745

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.21 avg rating
(14 ratings)

Synopsis: Ben Williamson has lost a daughter. While studying abroad in Madrid, Michelle Williamson was caught in a bombing by Basque separatists, a bombing that killed her and several members of the Guardia Civil at a post in a park. For Ben, this act of violence has left only questions, and at a moment of despair he decides to seek out the reasons for Michelle?s death. As Ben begins to learn about the endless tensions beneath the surface of Spanish culture, he finds that he wants someone to answer for his loss.

Ben?s other daughter, Annie, is also wrestling with the loss of her sister. When she follows her father to Spain, she finds a changed man.

Haunting and beautiful, House of the Deaf is the story of one man?s brush with terrorism and his quest to find answers.

About the Author: Lamar Herrin is the author of four previous novels: The Unwritten Chronicles of Robert E. Lee, The Rio Loja Ringmaster, American Baroque, and The Lies Boys Tell. His short stories have appeared in The New Yorker, The Paris Review, and Epoch. Herrin is also the recipient of a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts and is a professor of creative writing and contemporary literature at Cornell University.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • Check
  • MasterCard
  • Money Order
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Seller a Question]

Bookseller: B. Rossi, Bindlestiff Books
Address: Altoona, PA, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: June 11, 2001
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

Form of payment: MasterCard, VISA, check, or money order
Returns policy: Returns within 14 days; Please specify reason. PA residents please add 6% sales tax.



Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. Domestic Media Mail $3.95, Priority Mail $5.60. Priority Mail International $19.50 to Canada, otherwise $23.50.


Store Description: Engaging books to companion your rambles down life's lane; inspiring books to guide you on the path to God's love.