House of Windows

John Langan

Published by Night Shade Books, 2010
ISBN 10: 159780195X / ISBN 13: 9781597801959
Used / Paperback / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! L. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.36 avg rating
(188 ratings)

Synopsis: When a young writer finds himself cornered by a beautiful widow in the waning hours of a late-night cocktail party, he seeks at first to escape, to return to his wife and infant son. But the tale she weaves, of her missing husband, a renowned English professor, and her lost stepson, a soldier killed on a battlefield on the other side of the world, and of phantasmal visions, a family curse, and a house — the Belvedere House, a striking mansion whose features suggest a face hidden just out of view — draws him in, capturing him. What follows is a deeply psychological ghost story of memory and malediction, loss and remorse.
This unnerving tour de force, exploring the literary haunted house, from Charles Dickens, Edgar Allan Poe, and H. P. Lovecraft to today, incorporates family trauma, abstract art, literary criticism, the occult Dickens, and the war in Afghanistan. From John Langan (Mr. Gaunt and Other Uneasy Encounters) comes House of Windows, a chilling novel in the tradition of Peter Straub, Joe Hill, and Laird Barron.

Skyhorse Publishing, under our Night Shade and Talos imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of titles for readers interested in science fiction (space opera, time travel, hard SF, alien invasion, near-future dystopia), fantasy (grimdark, sword and sorcery, contemporary urban fantasy, steampunk, alternative history), and horror (zombies, vampires, and the occult and supernatural), and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller, a national bestseller, or a Hugo or Nebula award-winner, we are committed to publishing quality books from a diverse group of authors.

About the Author: John Langan is the author of two novels, The Fisherman and House of Windows, and two collections of stories, The Wide, Carnivorous Sky and Other Monstrous Geographies and Mr. Gaunt and Other Uneasy Encounters. With Paul Tremblay, he co-edited Creatures: Thirty Years of Monsters. He is one of the founders of the Shirley Jackson Awards, for which he served as a juror during their first three years. Currently, he reviews horror and dark fantasy fiction for Locus magazine. His third collection, Sefira and Other Betrayals, is forthcoming in 2017. Langan has been nominated for the International Horror Guild Award and the Bram Stoker Award. He is an adjunct instructor at SUNY New Paltz, where he teaches classes in creative writing and Gothic literature. He lives in New York's Hudson Valley with his wife, younger son, and a house full of animals, some of whom he suspects move his things while he's asleep. (He's looking at you, cats.)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: House of Windows
Publisher: Night Shade Books
Publication Date: 2010
Binding: Paperback
Book Condition: Used: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

ISBN 10: 159780195X ISBN 13: 9781597801959
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97815978019590000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Langan, John
Published by Night Shade Books
ISBN 10: 159780195X ISBN 13: 9781597801959
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Outpost
(Blawnox, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Night Shade Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: Fine. 159780195X Never used in Like New condition. Light wear to corners/ edges. Bookseller Inventory # Z159780195XZ1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 9.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

John Langan
Published by Night Shade Books (2010)
ISBN 10: 159780195X ISBN 13: 9781597801959
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Night Shade Books, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX159780195X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

John Langan
Published by Night Shade Books (2010)
ISBN 10: 159780195X ISBN 13: 9781597801959
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Minden, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Night Shade Books, 2010. Book Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 159780195X-2-4

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 18.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Langan, John
Published by Night Shade Books:, San Francisco (2010)
ISBN 10: 159780195X ISBN 13: 9781597801959
Used Softcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ziesings
(Shingletown, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Night Shade Books:, San Francisco, 2010. First printing, Trade paperback, New, This one got by us when it was first published in paper. "When a young writer finds himself cornered by a beautiful widow in the waning hours of a late-night cocktail party, he seeks at first to escape, to return to his wife and infant son. But the tale she weaves, of her missing husband, a renowned English professor, and her lost stepson, a soldier killed on a battlefield on the other side of the world, and of phantasmal visions, a family curse, and a house - the Belvedere House, a striking mansion whose features suggest a face hidden just out of view - draws him in, capturing him. What follows is a deeply psychological ghost story of memory and malediction, loss and remorse.". Bookseller Inventory # 58320

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 14.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.75
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Langan, John
Published by Night Shade Books
ISBN 10: 159780195X ISBN 13: 9781597801959
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Night Shade Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 159780195X *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132639028

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Langan, John
Published by Night Shade Books
ISBN 10: 159780195X ISBN 13: 9781597801959
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Night Shade Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: Fine. 159780195X *LIKE NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI21FI920637

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 16.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

John Langan
Published by Night Shade Books (2010)
ISBN 10: 159780195X ISBN 13: 9781597801959
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Night Shade Books, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: Used: Good. Bookseller Inventory # SONG159780195X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 15.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Langan, John
Published by Night Shade Books (2010)
ISBN 10: 159780195X ISBN 13: 9781597801959
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Night Shade Books, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Great condition with minimal wear, aging, or shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # P02159780195X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 28.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Langan, John
Published by Night Shade Books (2010)
ISBN 10: 159780195X ISBN 13: 9781597801959
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Night Shade Books, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: Like New. Almost new condition. Bookseller Inventory # P01159780195X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 29.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 4 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book