Hunting from Home: A Year Afield in the Blue Ridge Mountains

Christopher Camuto

Published by W. W. Norton & Company, 2003
ISBN 10: 0393049159 / ISBN 13: 9780393049152
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! L. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.88 avg rating
(25 ratings)

Synopsis:

Hunting from Home is the culmination of a long and thoughtful journey through the rich natural landscape of the southern Appalachians.

A vivid rendering of the four seasons on a Shenandoah Valley farm and in the Virginia mountains. Christopher Camuto has been praised for writing "with the clear-sightedness and imaginative reachboth inward and outwardof a poet" (Verlyn Klinkenborg). In Hunting from Home, Camuto takes the reader through a year of intense experiences: hunting grouse with his setter through snowbound forests in winter; wading trout streams in spring; closely observing birds and wildlife through summer; exploring the backcountry, cutting wood, and hunting deer in autumn. He takes seriouslyand joyously Thoreau's injunction to practice "the discipline of looking always at what is to be seen." Camuto writes incisively about the hunter's paradoxical love of the game he pursues; but he also hunts in the broadest sense possible, searching out and witnessing the life of the things he lovesbrook trout and black bear, hawks and warblerswith the hope of sharing the pleasures and preoccupations of a "border life" lived, with deep satisfaction, in the shadow of the Blue Ridge. 4 b/w illustrations.

About the Author: Christopher Camuto is the author of A Fly Fisherman’s Blue Ridge, Another Country: Journeying Toward the Cherokee Mountains, Hunting from Home and Time and Tide in Acadia. He teaches creative writing at Bucknell University and lives in Lewisburg, Pennsylvania.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Hunting from Home: A Year Afield in the Blue...
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Publication Date: 2003
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Used: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Camuto, Christopher
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2003)
ISBN 10: 0393049159 ISBN 13: 9780393049152
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2003. Book Condition: Very Good. 1st Edition. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP96373134

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Christopher Camuto
Published by Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W.
ISBN 10: 0393049159 ISBN 13: 9780393049152
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Books Squared
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Bookseller Inventory # G0393049159I5N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Christopher Camuto
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393049159 ISBN 13: 9780393049152
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some minor highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable. Bookseller Inventory # 2778559791

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Camuto, Christopher
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393049159 ISBN 13: 9780393049152
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Davis Memorial Goodwill Industries
(Washington, DC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. Book Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact (including dust cover, if applicable). The spine and cover may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can This item was a donation to Goodwill of Greater Washington. Thanks for your order from Goodwill of Greater Washington. Bookseller Inventory # O-019-03751

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Camuto, Christopher
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2003)
ISBN 10: 0393049159 ISBN 13: 9780393049152
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Patrico Books
(Apollo Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: Used: Good. Ships Out Tomorrow!. Bookseller Inventory # 170407007

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Camuto, Christopher
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393049159 ISBN 13: 9780393049152
Used Hardcover Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Wonder Book
(Frederick, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. Book Condition: As New. Signed Copy . Like New dust jacket. Signed by author on title page. Bookseller Inventory # K16E-00697

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 10.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Christopher Camuto
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2003)
ISBN 10: 0393049159 ISBN 13: 9780393049152
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: Used: Very Good. Bookseller Inventory # SONG0393049159

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 7.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Camuto, Christopher
ISBN 10: 0393049159 ISBN 13: 9780393049152
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bacobooks
(Los Alamitos, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. 1. Bookseller Inventory # K-542-296

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 9.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Camuto, Christopher
Published by Norton (2003)
ISBN 10: 0393049159 ISBN 13: 9780393049152
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Shaker Mill Books
(W. Stockbridge, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Norton, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: As New. Dust Jacket Condition: As New. 1st Edition. "Writing in the tradition of Emerson and Thoreau." Third of a trilogy on the souther Appalachians. Eloquent sportsman writes of life and of nature. Bookseller Inventory # ws13542

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 14.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.75
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Christopher Camuto
ISBN 10: 0393049159 ISBN 13: 9780393049152
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Good. Book Condition: Good. Bookseller Inventory # 97803930491524.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 14.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 14 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book