Stock Image

THE ILLUMINATIONS - Rare Pristine Copy of The First Hardcover Edition/First Printing: Signed by Andrew O'Hagan

O'Hagan, Andrew

1,271 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0571273653 / ISBN 13: 9780571273652
Published by London, England: Faber & Faber, 2015
Condition: As New Hardcover
From Modern Rare (CHICAGO, IL, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since April 10, 2001

Quantity Available: 1

About this Item

1st Printing. Signed. 295 pages. Published in 2015. The author's fifth novel. One of the most important literary events of our time. The First Hardcover Edition. Precedes and should not be confused with all other subsequent editions, including copies that are signed on a tipped-in page or bookplate. Published in a small and limited first print run as a hardcover original only. Presents Andrew O'Hagan's "The Illuminations". "How much do we keep from the people we love? Why is the truth so often buried in secrets? Can we learn from the past or must we forget it? Standing one evening at the window of her house by the sea, Anne Quirk sees a rabbit disappearing in the snow. Nobody remembers her now, but this elderly woman was in her youth a pioneer of British documentary photography. Her beloved grandson, Luke, now a captain with the Royal Western Fusiliers, is on a tour of duty in Afghanistan, part of a convoy taking equipment to the electricity plant at Kajaki. Only when Luke returns home to Scotland does Anne's secret story begin to emerge, along with his, and they set out for an old guest house in Blackpool where she once kept a room" (Publisher's blurb). An absolute "must-have" title for Andrew O'Hagan collectors. This copy is very prominently, neatly, and beautifully signed in blue ink-pen on the title page by Andrew O'Hagan. It is signed directly on the page itself, not on a tipped-in page or bookplate. This title will become a contemporary classic. This is one of very few such signed copies of the First Hardcover Edition/First Printing still available online and is in especially fine condition: Clean, crisp, and bright, a pristine beauty. A rare signed copy thus. One of the finest British writers of our time. A fine copy. ISBN 0571273653. Bookseller Inventory # 19958

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: THE ILLUMINATIONS - Rare Pristine Copy of ...

Publisher: London, England: Faber & Faber, 2015

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:As New

Dust Jacket Condition: As New

Signed: Signed by Author

Edition: 1st Edition.

About this title

Synopsis:

A compelling new novel by two-time Booker finalist and internationally acclaimed author Andrew O'Hagan. For readers of Colm Toibin, Ian McEwan, Alan Hollinghurst and David Mitchell.
     How much do we keep from the people we love? Why is the truth so often buried in secrets? Can we learn from the past or must we forget it? The Illuminations, Andrew O'Hagan's fifth work of fiction, is a powerful, nuanced and deeply affecting novel about love and memory, about modern war and the complications of fact.
     Standing one evening at the window of her house by the sea, Anne Quirk sees a rabbit disappearing in the snow. Nobody remembers her now, but this elderly woman was in her youth an artistic pioneer, a creator of groundbreaking documentary photographs. Her beloved grandson, Luke, now a captain in the British army is on a tour of duty in Afghanistan. When his mission goes horribly wrong, he ultimately comes face to face with questions of loyalty and moral responsibility that will continue to haunt him. Once Luke returns home to Scotland, Anne's secret story begins to emerge, along with his, and they set out for an old guest house in Blackpool where she once kept a room. There they witness the annual illuminations--the dazzling artificial lights that brighten the seaside resort town as the season turns to winter. The Illuminations is a beautiful and highly charged novel that reveals, among other things, that no matter how we look at it, there is no such thing as an ordinary life.

About the Author:

ANDREW O'HAGAN is one of Britain's most exciting contemporary writers. He has twice been a finalist for the Man Booker Prize. He was voted one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists in 2003. He has won the Los Angeles Times Book Awardand the E. M. Forster Award from the American Academy of Arts & Letters. His journalism has appeared in the London Review of Books, The Guardian and The New Yorker.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Modern Rare is exclusively an online bookstore. Our physical address is 124 N. California Ave, Chicago, Illinois 60612, U.S.A. The main contact person is Salvador L. Cortes. He can be reached at 312-376-5000 during regular business hours, Monday to Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Chicago/Midwestern Standard Time. Email is usually the best way to reach us: info@modernrare.com We will respond to your email query within 24 hours. We are exclusively an online bookstore because we believe this is the best way to satisfy our customers' expectations. Unlike an open bookstore, where books are routinely handled and may deteriorate, we guarantee the condition of our books as described. We specialize in modern firsts, photography, the arts, and erotica. You will also find a fine selection of signed copies, Limited Editions, and memorabilia because our ultimate goal is to deepen the pleasure of collecting books. We carry titles that we ourselves like and believe in -- books that we think will excite, enchant, and endure. Please note: Payment needs to be made directly through ABEBooks. If you wish to make any other payment arrangement, please get in touch with us before placing your order. Thank you and happy collecting!

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

ModernRare.com is exclusively an online bookstore. Our physical address is 124 N. California Ave, Chicago, Illinois 60612, U.S.A. The main contact person is Salvador L. Cortes. He can be reached at 312-376-5000 during regular business hours, Monday to Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00
p.m., Chicago/Midwestern Standard Time.

Email is usually the best way to reach us: info@modernrare.com We will respond
to your email query within 24 hours.

We are exclusively an online bookstore because we believe thi...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping rates are based on books weighing 1.5 LB, or 1 KG. If the book is heavy or oversize, particularly Art, Photography, and Erotica titles, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required, based on actual cost. Every year, the shipping/dispatch rates of the United States Postal Service (USPS) as well as the private services relentlessly increase. PLEASE NOTE: WE DO NOT MAKE MONEY ON SHIPPING. BUT WE CANNOT AFFORD TO SUBSIDIZE IT EITHER. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express