Stock Image

The Illuminations

O'Hagan, Andrew

1,285 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0571273645 / ISBN 13: 9780571273645
Published by Faber & Faber, 2015
New Condition: New Hardcover
From Shadow Books (CIncinnati, OH, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since March 19, 2014

Quantity Available: 1

Buy New
Price: US$ 25.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Author signed and dated (28 Aug '15) 1st printing - book is new, tight, crisp clean. Dust jacket protected in mylar (plastic) wrap. immaculate. Bookseller Inventory # 000291

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Illuminations

Publisher: Faber & Faber

Publication Date: 2015

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:New

Dust Jacket Condition: New

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

A compelling new novel by two-time Booker finalist and internationally acclaimed author Andrew O'Hagan. For readers of Colm Toibin, Ian McEwan, Alan Hollinghurst and David Mitchell.
     How much do we keep from the people we love? Why is the truth so often buried in secrets? Can we learn from the past or must we forget it? The Illuminations, Andrew O'Hagan's fifth work of fiction, is a powerful, nuanced and deeply affecting novel about love and memory, about modern war and the complications of fact.
     Standing one evening at the window of her house by the sea, Anne Quirk sees a rabbit disappearing in the snow. Nobody remembers her now, but this elderly woman was in her youth an artistic pioneer, a creator of groundbreaking documentary photographs. Her beloved grandson, Luke, now a captain in the British army is on a tour of duty in Afghanistan. When his mission goes horribly wrong, he ultimately comes face to face with questions of loyalty and moral responsibility that will continue to haunt him. Once Luke returns home to Scotland, Anne's secret story begins to emerge, along with his, and they set out for an old guest house in Blackpool where she once kept a room. There they witness the annual illuminations--the dazzling artificial lights that brighten the seaside resort town as the season turns to winter. The Illuminations is a beautiful and highly charged novel that reveals, among other things, that no matter how we look at it, there is no such thing as an ordinary life.

About the Author:

ANDREW O'HAGAN is one of Britain's most exciting contemporary writers. He has twice been a finalist for the Man Booker Prize. He was voted one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists in 2003. He has won the Los Angeles Times Book Awardand the E. M. Forster Award from the American Academy of Arts & Letters. His journalism has appeared in the London Review of Books, The Guardian and The New Yorker.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

On Line Bookstore

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as
Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a
book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact
us and we'll respond within 2 business days.


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express