Stock Image

The Intuitionist

Whitehead, Colson

ISBN 10: 0385492995 / ISBN 13: 9780385492997
Published by Doubleday, 1998
Used Condition: Fine Hardcover
From SYLVESTER & ORPHANOS (HOLLYWOOD, CA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since December 11, 1999

Quantity Available: 1

About this Item

Signed by Author(s) 0385492995 Signed by Colson Whitehead. Author's acclaimed first book. Dj blurbs by Walter Mosley, Gary Indiana, etc. Bookseller Inventory # 003588

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Intuitionist

Publisher: Doubleday

Publication Date: 1998

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: First Edition.

About this title

Synopsis:

It is a time of calamity in a major metropolitan city's Department of Elevator Inspectors, and Lila Mae Watson, the first black female elevator inspector in the history of the department, is at the center of it.  There are two warring factions within the department:  the Empiricists, who work by the book and dutifully check for striations on the winch cable and such; and the Intuitionists, who are simply able to enter the elevator cab in question, meditate, and intuit any defects.  

Lila Mae is an Intuitionist and, it just so happens, has the highest accuracy rate in the entire department.  But when an elevator in a new city building goes into total freefall on Lila Mae's watch, chaos ensues.  It's an election year in the Elevator Guild, and the good-old-boy Empiricists would love nothing more than to assign the blame to an Intuitionist.  But Lila Mae is never wrong.

The sudden appearance of excerpts from the lost notebooks of Intuitionism's founder, James Fulton, has also caused quite a stir.  The notebooks describe Fulton's work on the "black box," a perfect elevator that could reinvent the city as radically as the first passenger elevator did when patented by Elisha Otis in the nineteenth century.  When Lila Mae goes underground to investigate the crash, she becomes involved in the search for the portions of the notebooks that are still missing and uncovers a secret that will change her life forever.

A dead-serious and seriously funny feat of the imagination, The Intuitionist is a brilliant debut by an exceptional young talent.  Its sidesplitting humor is accompanied by a sobering examination of race--how it causes people to act and what it causes them to believe about themselves and others.  In the tradition of Ralph Ellison, Colson Whitehead artfully crosses back and forth over racial, political, and artistic borders to create a work of stunning depth,  soulfulness, and originality, starring one of the most intriguing heroines in contemporary fiction.

Review:

Verticality, architectural and social, is the lofty idea at the heart of Colson Whitehead's odd, sly, and ultimately irresistible first novel. The setting is an unnamed though obviously New Yorkish high-rise city, the time less convincingly future than deliciously other, as it combines 21st-century engineering feats with 19th-century pork-barrel politics and smoky working-class pubs. Elevators are the technological expression of the vertical idea, and Lila Mae Watson, the city's first black female elevator inspector, is its embattled token of upward mobility.

Lila Mae's good ol' boy colleagues in the Department of Elevator Inspectors are understandably jealous of the flawless record that her natural intelligence and diligence have earned, and understandably delighted when Number Eleven in the newly completed Fanny Briggs Memorial Building goes into deadly free fall just hours after Lila Mae has signed off on it, using the controversial "Intuitionist" method of ascertaining elevator safety. It is, after all, an election year in the Elevator Guild, and the Empiricists would do most anything to discredit the Intuitionist faction. Everyone on both sides assumes that Number Eleven was sabotaged and Lila Mae set up to take the fall. "So complete is Number Eleven's ruin," writes Whitehead, "that there's nothing left but the sound of the crash, rising in the shaft, a fall in opposite: a soul." Lila Mae's doom seems equally irreversible.

Whitehead evokes a world so utterly involving to its own denizens that outside reality does not impinge on its perfect solipsism. We the readers are taken hostage as Lila Mae strives to exonerate herself in this urgent adventure full of government spies, underworld hit men, and seductive double agents. Behind the action, always, is the Idea. Lila Mae's quest reveals the existence of heretofore lost writings by James Fulton, father of Intuitionism, a giant of vertical thought, whose fate is mysteriously entwined with her own. If she is able to find and reveal his plan for the Black Box, the perfect, next-generation elevator, the city as it now exists will instantly be obsolescent. The social and economic implications are huge and the denouement is elegantly philosophical. Most impressive of all is the integrity of Whitehead's prose. Eschewing mere cleverness, resisting showoff word play, he somehow manages to strike a tone that's always funny, always fierce, and always entirely respectful of his characters and their world. May the god of second novels smile as broadly on him as did the god of firsts. --Joyce Thompson

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

We specialize in Modern First Editions, Plays, Books on the Theatre and Cinema, Ethinc American Literature and Social Studies, Gay & Lesbian Literature and Social Studies, etc. We also published Limited-Signed Books, printed by letterpress and bound by hand, of notable American & international authors that include Paul Bowles, John Cheever, Nadine Gordimer, Graham Greene, Christopher Isherwood, James Merrill, V.S. Naipaul, Joyce Carol Oates, Philip Roth, William Styron, John Updike, Gore Vidal, and Tennessee Williams.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

ALL BOOKS ARE FIRST EDITIONS AND IN FINE CONDITION UNLESS OTHERWISE SPECIFIED. ALL DUST JACKETS, AND THEIR CONDITIONS, ARE INDICATED WHEN PRESENT. ANY BOOK RETURNED MUST BE WITHIN 10 DAYS OF RECEIPT. CALIFORNIA RESIDENTS WILL BE CHARGED APPLICABLE SALES TAX. DOMESTIC MEDIA MAIL POSTAGE & HANDLING FEES ARE AS FOLLOWS: $6 FOR THE FIRST BOOK ORDERED AND $2 FOR EACH ADDITIONAL BOOK. INSURANCE IS EXTRA. ORDERS SENT UNINSURED ARE SENT AT THE RECIPIENT'S RISK. ALL DOMESTIC SHIPPED BOOKS WILL BE SENT WI...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express