Stock Image

Jakob's Colours (Signed First Edition)

Hawdon, Lindsay

226 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1444797670 / ISBN 13: 9781444797671
Published by Hodder & Stoughton, 2015
New Condition: New Hardcover
From Dan Pope Books (West Hartford, CT, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since October 12, 2002

Quantity Available: 1

Buy New
List Price: US$ 24.95
Price: US$ 85.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.95 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

London: Hodder Stoughton (2015). First edition. First printing. Hardbound. New/New. A pristine unread copy (without marks or bruises or smells or any other defect). Comes with archival-quality mylar dust jacket cover (not clipped, of course). Shipped in well-padded box. Purchased new and opened only for author to sign, no inscriptions, just the author's name directly on the title page. SIGNED BY AUTHOR on title page and dated by her in April 2015. You cannot find a better copy. Bookseller Inventory # British-Signed-Fiction-4

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Jakob's Colours (Signed First Edition)

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Publication Date: 2015

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:New

Dust Jacket Condition: New

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition...

About this title

Synopsis:

This heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark, and The Book Thief. Austria, 1944: Jakob, a gypsy boy—half Roma, half Yenish—runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sack cloth, still bloodstained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other. He runs blindly, full of fear, empty of hope. For hope lies behind him in a green field with a tree that stands shaped like a Y. He knows how to read the land, the sky. When to seek shelter, when not. He has grown up directing himself with the wind and the shadows. They are familiar to him. It is the loneliness that is not. He has never, until this time, been so alone. "Don't be afraid, Jakob," his father has told him, his voice weak and wavering. "See the colors, my boy," he has whispered. So he does. Rusted ochre from a mossy bough. Steely white from the sap of the youngest tree. On and on, Jakob runs. Spanning from one world war to another, taking us across England, Switzerland, and Austria, Jakob's Colours is about the painful legacies passed down from one generation to another, finding hope where there is no hope, and color where there is no color.

About the Author:

Lindsay Hawdon writes fiction and travel. Her column "An Englishwoman Abroad" ran in the Sunday Telegraph for seven years. Throughout that time she traveled to every continent, writing stories about her experiences and the people she encountered along the way. Her blog for the Sunday Times called "Have Kids Will Travel" followed a year's trip traveling solo with her two young boys through the Far East to Australia.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

An online bookstore. All books stored in a smoke-free, bug-free, pet-free environment. We take great pride in the condition of our books. Most are in new condition, untouched, unopened. We guarantee that you'll be pleased with your book purchase! All collectible books are shipped in well padded boxes within USA, not envelopes.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

All books shipped within 24 hours.
This is a sole proprietorship, Daniel C. Pope, 35 Avondale Road, West Hartford Conn. 06117, USA. Email: dan.pope@comcast.net. Phone: (860) 232-9930.


Shipping Terms:

Media rate shippng is $3.95. Priority rate shipping is $5.90. International priority rate in a box for a two-pound book is approxiamtely $20. Some heavy books might be more to ship overseas. Will overnight express anywhere within USA if you ask first. All books sent in well padded sturdy boxes.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express