Stock Image

Jihad vs. McWorld: How the Planet Is Both Falling Apart and Coming Together and What This Means for Democracy

Barber, Benjamin R.

1,179 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0812923502 / ISBN 13: 9780812923506
Published by Times Books, New York, 1995
Hardcover
From Warwick Books, member IOBA (South Pasadena, CA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since June 11, 2002

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 35.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Hardcover with dustjacket. 8vo. First edition. Review material laid in. Book is in near fine condition; bottom edge and one corner are bumped. Jacket is in near fine condition, with lightly rubbed edges. 381 pp. including index. Bookseller Inventory # 10885

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Jihad vs. McWorld: How the Planet Is Both ...

Publisher: Times Books, New York

Publication Date: 1995

Binding: Hardcover

Dust Jacket Condition: Dust Jacket Included

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

Barber offers a bold lens through which to understand the chaotic events of the post-Cold War world and, in the tradition of Alvin Toffler's Future Shock and Paul Kennedy's The Rise and Fall of the Great Powers, explains the forces at work, why democracy is under siege, and what the consequences are for citizenship.

Review:

As soon as you hear the conceit of this book--that there are two great opposing forces at work in the world today, border-crossing capitalism and splintering factionalism, and that they are the two biggest threats to democracy--you know it rings true enough to be worth reading. Although capitalism could have only grown to current levels in the soil of democracies, Benjamin Barber argues that global capitalism now tends to work against the very concept of citizenship, of people thinking for themselves and with their neighbors. Too often now, how we think is the product of a transnational corporation (increasingly, a media corporation) with headquarters elsewhere. And although self-determination is one of the most fundamental of democratic principles, unchecked it has lead to a tribalism (think Bosnia, think Rwanda) in which virtually no one besides the local power elite gets a fair shake. The antidote, Barber concludes, is to work everywhere to resuscitate the non-governmental, non-business spaces in life--he calls them "civic spaces" (such as the village green, voluntary associations of every sort, churches, community schools)--where true citizenship thrives.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Warwick Books, is an Internet-only bookseller that specializes in hard-to-find books for avid readers and collectors. Many of our books are out of print. Specialties include literature, signed firsts, art and photography, design, illustrated books, cookbooks, field guides, children's books, needlecraft books, and Americana. We recently acquired a large private collection of books on military history. The focus is on World War II as well as aviation history. Warwick Books is a member of IOBA, the Independent Online Booksellers Association.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We accept personal checks, money orders, Paypal, and credit card payments through ABE's secure ABE Commerce arrangement. California residents add 9.5 percent sales tax. Please e-mail or phone to confirm availability of books before sending payment. We can be reached at Warwick Books, 101 Warwick Place, South Pasadena, CA, att: Suzanne Mantell. Phone 323-683-3294; e-mail warwickbooks@socal.rr.com. All items are guaranteed as described. We ship all books well protected in bubble wrap and boxes. Bo...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Orders ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we will contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express