Jungle of Stone - The True Story of Two Men, Their Extraordinary Journey, and the Discovery of the Lost Civilization of the Maya

William Carlsen

Published by Blackstone Audio
ISBN 10: 1504695348 / ISBN 13: 9781504695343
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. Here are our closest matches for Jungle of Stone - The True Story of Two Men, Their Extraordinary Journey, and the Discovery of the Lost Civilization of the Maya by William Carlsen.

Description:

BRAND NEW Audiobook on Library CD - Unabridged A Brand New Quality Audiobook from a Full-Time Veteran Owned Bookshop in business since 1992!. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.04 avg rating
(776 ratings)

Synopsis: The extraordinary true story of the rediscovery of the Mayan civilization. In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Empire of Ice, comes the forgotten tale of 19th century American John Lloyd Stephens's quest to uncover and understand the ancient world's most advanced civilization amid the jungles of Central America.Imagine The Lost City of Z, except the fabled lost jungle civilization really was found--an "Egypt in the Americas" in which 1,500-year-old pyramids and temples were hidden in impenetrable tropical forests, along with evidence of astonishingly sophisticated art, writing, science, and culture.In 1839, when John Lloyd Stephens, a dashing U.S. special ambassador to Central America, and Frederick Catherwood, an acclaimed British architect and draftsman, set out into the unexplored jungles of the Yucatan, Charles Darwin was aboard the H.M.S. Beagle, the Bible was the basic template of history, and most people believed the world was less than 6,000 years old. Deep in the jungles, they stumbled upon the wondrous ruins of the Mayan civilization--an astonishing find that would change western understanding of human history.In Jungle of Stone, William Carlsen uncovers the rich history of the ruins as he follows Stephens and Catherwood's journey through present day Guatemala, Honduras, and Mexico. Drawing upon Stephens's journals and Cather's magnificent illustrations--which became the bestselling book Incidents of Travel in Yucatan--Carlsen artfully tells the enthralling story of two great voyagers and the world they discovered.

From the Back Cover:

In 1839, rumors of extraordinary yet baffling stone ruins buried within the unmapped jungles of Central America reached two of the world’s most intrepid travelers. Seized by the reports, American diplomat John Lloyd Stephens and British artist Frederick Catherwood—both already celebrated for their adventures in Egypt, the Holy Land, Greece, and Rome—sailed together out of New York Harbor on an expedition into the forbidding rainforests of present-day Honduras, Guatemala, and Mexico. What they found would rewrite the West’s understanding of human history.

In the tradition of Lost City of Z and In the Kingdom of Ice, former San Francisco Chronicle journalist and Pulitzer Prize finalist William Carlsen reveals the extraordinary story of the discovery of the ancient Maya. Enduring disease, war, and the torments of nature and terrain, Stephens and Catherwood meticulously uncovered and documented the remains of an astonishing civilization that had flourished in the Americas at the same time as classic Greece and Rome—and had been its rival in art, architecture, and power. Their remarkable book about the experience, written by Stephens and illustrated by Catherwood, became a sensation, hailed by Edgar Allan Poe as “perhaps the most interesting book of travel ever published” and recognized today as the birth of American archaeology. Most important, Stephens and Catherwood were the first to grasp the significance of the Mayan remains, understanding that their antiquity and sophistication overturned the West’s assumptions about the development of civilization.

By the time of the flowering of classical Greece (400 b.c.), the Maya were already constructing pyramids and temples around central plazas. Within a few hundred years the structures took on a monumental scale that required millions of man-hours of labor, and technical and organizational expertise. Over the next millennium, dozens of city-states evolved, each governed by powerful lords, some with populations larger than any city in Europe at the time, and connected by road-like causeways of crushed stone. The Maya developed a cohesive, unified cosmology, an array of common gods, a creation story, and a shared artistic and architectural vision. They created stucco and stone monuments and bas reliefs, sculpting figures and hieroglyphs with refined artistic skill. At their peak, an estimated ten million people occupied the Maya’s heartland on the Yucatan Peninsula, a region where only half a million now live. And yet by the time the Spanish reached the “New World,” the Maya had all but disappeared; they would remain a mystery for the next three hundred years.

Today, the tables are turned: the Maya are justly famous, if sometimes misunderstood, while Stephens and Catherwood have been all but forgotten. Based on Carlsen’s rigorous  research and his own 2,500-mile journey throughout the Yucatan and Central America, Jungle of Stone is equally a thrilling adventure narrative and a revelatory work of history that corrects our understanding of Stephens, Catherwood, and the Maya themselves.

“Thrilling. . . . A captivating history.”—Kirkus Reviews (Starred)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Jungle of Stone - The True Story of Two Men,...
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Book Condition: BRAND NEW

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Carlsen, William
Published by William Morrow (2016)
ISBN 10: 0062407392 ISBN 13: 9780062407399
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Diamond
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_205003689

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Carlsen, William
Published by William Morrow (2016)
ISBN 10: 0062407392 ISBN 13: 9780062407399
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Half Price Books Inc.
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_211063557

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 7.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Carlsen, William
Published by William Morrow (2016)
ISBN 10: 0062407392 ISBN 13: 9780062407399
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Blue
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_213799999

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 7.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Carlsen, William
Published by William Morrow (2016)
ISBN 10: 0062407392 ISBN 13: 9780062407399
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB Inc.
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_214675246

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Carlsen, William
ISBN 10: 0062407406 ISBN 13: 9780062407405
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2017. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # VC-9780062407405

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Carlsen, William
ISBN 10: 0062407406 ISBN 13: 9780062407405
New Quantity Available: 9
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2017. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9780062407405

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

William Carlsen
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks 2017-06-01 (2017)
ISBN 10: 0062407406 ISBN 13: 9780062407405
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks 2017-06-01, 2017. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # NU-HCL-00022539

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 20.11
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

William Carlsen
Published by William Morrow & Company (2017)
ISBN 10: 0062407406 ISBN 13: 9780062407405
New Trade Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Powell's Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow & Company, 2017. Trade Paperback. Condition: New. TRADE PAPERBACK Legendary independent bookstore online since 1994. Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. General. Book: NEW, New. Bookseller Inventory # 01978006240740500. Seller Inventory # 01978006240740500

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Carlsen, William
Published by William Morrow (2016)
ISBN 10: 0062407392 ISBN 13: 9780062407399
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Alhambra Books
(Edmonton, AB, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Good +. 528 pp, index, b/w and colour illustrations. Dj hs edgewear. Interior unmarked. Extra shipping charges. Seller Inventory # 046609

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 16.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 21.80
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

William Carlsen
Published by HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio (2016)
ISBN 10: 1504695356 ISBN 13: 9781504695350
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio, 2016. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1504695356

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 41.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 3 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book