The Killer and the Slain: A Strange Story

WALPOLE, Hugh

Published by Doubleday, Doran & Company, 1942
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
From Main Street Fine Books & Mss, ABAA (Galena, IL, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. Here are our closest matches for The Killer and the Slain: A Strange Story by WALPOLE, Hugh.

Description:

8vo. Grey cloth, pictorial price-clipped dust jacket. 300pp. Very good/very good. Very slight jacket edgewear; "(Henry James)" inked on dedication page (which dedicates the book "to the Author of The Turn of the Screw"); nonauthorial gift inscription on front flyleaf. A tight and handsome first edition of this posthumously-published novel by the prolific and popular English novelist (1884-1941). Bookseller Inventory # 33670

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Killer and the Slain: A Strange Story
Publisher: Doubleday, Doran & Company
Publication Date: 1942
Binding: Hardcover
Dust Jacket Condition: Dust Jacket Included
Edition: 1st Edition

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Walpole, Sir Hugh
Published by Book League of America
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book League of America. Hardcover. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # GB00005XKU9I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 7.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Walpole, Sir Hugh
Published by Book League of America (1942)
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Once Upon A Time Books
(Springdale, AR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book League of America, 1942. Hardcover. Condition: Good. This is a used book in good condition and may show some signs of use or wear . Seller Inventory # mon0002691708

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Sir Hugh Walpole
Published by Book League of America (1942)
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book League of America, 1942. Condition: Fair. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Seller Inventory # GRP94171529

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.76
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.39
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Walpole, Hugh
Published by Valancourt Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1939140994 ISBN 13: 9781939140999
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books From California
(Simi Valley, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Valancourt Books, 2014. Paperback. Condition: Good. Mild to Moderate creasing / bending to covers and pages. Book is otherwise very clean, unmarked and 100% functional. A Good to Very Good Copy. Seller Inventory # mon0001809446

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 7.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Hugh Walpole, John Howard
Published by VALANCOURT BOOKS, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 1939140994 ISBN 13: 9781939140999
Used Trade Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Powell's Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description VALANCOURT BOOKS, United States, 2014. Trade Paperback. Condition: Good. TRADE PAPERBACK Legendary independent bookstore online since 1994. Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. Fiction and Poetry>Horror>General. Book: USED, Good. Bookseller Inventory # 01978193914099900. Seller Inventory # 01978193914099900

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 7.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Walpole Hugh
Published by Doubleday, Doran & Co., Garden City, New York (1942)
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ann Open Book
(Lansing, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday, Doran & Co., Garden City, New York, 1942. Hard Cover. Condition: Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Fair. First U.S. Edition. Seller Inventory # 004708

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 9.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Walpole, Hugh
Published by Valancourt Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1939140994 ISBN 13: 9781939140999
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Valancourt Books, 2014. Condition: Very Good. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP102638354

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 10.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.39
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Walpole, Hugh
Published by Book League of America, New York NY (1942)
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Gibson's Books
(Owens Cross Roads, AL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book League of America, New York NY, 1942. Hardcover. Reprint. Very Good in Very Good dust jacket; DJ is worn at edges. Owner stamped ; 300 pages. Seller Inventory # 32023

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 12.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Hugh Walpole
Published by Valancourt Books, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 1939140994 ISBN 13: 9781939140999
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Valancourt Books, United States, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. [An] exercise in the macabre, the bizarre, the psychologically unaccountable . worked out with conspicuous craft and dexterity . ingenious, accomplished. - Times Literary Supplement [A] masterful blending of suspense, horror and deep-etched character . spine-chilling. - Publishers Weekly Well done, with more sex than one associates with Walpole . belongs in the gallery of pathological horror stories. - Kirkus Reviews [W]ill entangle the imaginative reader. It is undoubtedly macabre. Maturity and assurance of style add to its impressiveness. - Sydney Morning Herald As boys, Jimmie Tunstall was John Talbot s implacable foe, never ceasing to taunt, torment, and bully him. Years later, John is married and living in a small coastal town when he learns, much to his chagrin, that his old adversary has just moved to the same town. Before long the harassment begins anew until finally, driven to desperation, John murders his tormentor. Soon he starts to suffer from frightening hallucinations and his personality and physical appearance begin to alter, causing him increasingly to resemble the man he killed. Is it merely the psychological effect of his guilt, or is it the manifestation of something supernatural - and evil? The tension builds until the chilling final scene, when the horrifying truth will be revealed about the killer - and the slain. The works of the prolific and phenomenally popular Sir Hugh Walpole (1884-1941) have been neglected since his death, but his macabre tales, of which The Killer and the Slain (1942) is the best, deserve rediscovery. A psychological horror story in the tradition of The Turn of the Screw and The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Walpole s posthumous novel is reprinted for the first time in this new edition, which features an introduction by John Howard. Seller Inventory # AAV9781939140999

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.40
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Walpole, Hugh
Published by Valancourt Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1939140994 ISBN 13: 9781939140999
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Valancourt Books, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. PRINT ON DEMAND Book; New; Publication Year 2016; Not Signed; Fast Shipping from the UK. No. book. Seller Inventory # ria9781939140999_lsuk

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.41
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.06
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are 17 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book