Stock Image

The Lace Reader

Brunonia, Barry

ISBN 10: 0061624764 / ISBN 13: 9780061624766
/ Condition: As New / Hardcover
Quantity Available: 2
From MacFinn's Books (Shenandoah, IA, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 75.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Return Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: The Lace Reader

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: As New

Dust Jacket Condition: As New

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition

Description:

Book is in new, unread condition, which has been signed and dated by the author. Mylar covered. Bookseller Inventory # 000018

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.46 avg rating
(24,199 ratings)

Synopsis: In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry?s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called ?[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic? by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator?a woman from an enigmatic Salem family who can foretell the future in patterns of lace. The Lace Reader was a runaway New York Times bestseller?hitting the top lists in major cities across the country, from Boston to Chicago to Los Angeles?and has immediately established debut author Brunonia Barry as a major force in contemporary American fiction.

Review: Amazon Best of the Month, August 2008: Brunonia Barry dreamt she saw a prophecy in a piece of lace, a vision so potent she spun it into a novel. The Lace Reader retains the strange magic of a vivid dream, though Barry's portrayal of modern-day Salem, Massachusetts--with its fascinating cast of eccentrics--is reportedly spot-on. Some of its stranger residents include generations of Whitney women, with a gift for seeing the future in the lace they make. Towner Whitney, back to Salem from self-imposed exile on the West Coast, has plans for recuperation that evaporate with her great-aunt Eva's mysterious drowning. Fighting fear from a traumatic adolescence she can barely remember, Towner digs in for answers. But questions compound with the disappearance of a young woman under the thrall of a local fire-and-brimstone preacher, whose history of violence against Whitney women makes the situation personal for Towner. Her role in cop John Rafferty's investigation sparks a tentative romance. And as they scramble to avert disaster, the past that had slipped through the gaps in Towner's memory explodes into the present with a violence that capsizes her concept of truth. Readers will look back at the story in a new light, picking out the clues in this complex, lovely piece of work. --Mari Malcolm

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • Bank Draft
  • Check
  • MasterCard
  • Money Order
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Seller a Question]

Bookseller: MacFinn's Books
Address: Shenandoah, IA, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: March 16, 2012
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described
on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your
purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if
the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you¿ve
changed your mind about a book that you¿ve ordered, please
use the [Ask bookseller a question] link to contact us and
we'll respond within 2 business days.



Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.