ISBN 10: 0857899198 / ISBN 13: 9780857899194
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Summary: Inspired by the writings of Herodotus, a fictionalized retelling of the story of Croesus, the half historic, half mythic king whose rise and incredible fall from power shook the ancient world A defeated king stands on top of a pyre. His conqueror, the Persian ruler Cyrus, signals to his guards; they step forward and touch flaming torches to the dry wood. Croesus, once the wealthiest man of the ancient world, is to be burned alive. As he watches the flames catch, Croesus thinks back over his life. He remembers the time he asked the old Athenian philosopher, Solon, who was the happiest man in the world. Croesus used to think it was him. But then all his riches could not remove the spear from his dying elder son's chest, could not bring his mute younger son to speak, could not make him as wise as his own chief slave, could not bring his wife's love back, could not prevent his army from being torn apart and his kingdom lost. As the old philosopher had replied, a man's happiness can only be measured when he is dead. The first coils of smoke wrap around Croesus' neck like a noose. This deeply wise novel of what it means to be human is perfect for readers of Mary Renault and David Malouf. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.97 avg rating
(159 ratings)

Synopsis:

A defeated king stands on top of a pyre. His conqueror, the Persian ruler Cyrus, signals to his guards; they step forward and touch flaming torches to the dry wood. Croesus, once the wealthiest man of the ancient world, is to be burned alive. As he watches the flames catch, Croesus thinks back over his life. He remembers the time he asked the old Athenian philosopher, Solon, who was the happiest man in the world. Croesus used to think it was him. But then all his riches could not remove the spear from his dying elder son's chest, could not bring his mute younger son to speak, could not make him as wise as his own chief slave, could not bring his wife's love back, could not prevent his army from being torn apart and his kingdom lost. As the old philosopher had replied, a man's happiness can only be measured when he is dead. The first coils of smoke wrap around Croesus' neck like a noose. This deeply wise novel of what it means to be human is perfect for readers of Mary Renault and David Malouf.

About the Author: Tim Leach is a debut novelist.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Book Condition: Used

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Leach, Tim
Published by Atlantic Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0857899198 ISBN 13: 9780857899194
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revival Books Ltd
(Rossendale, LANCS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Ex Library Book with usual stamps and stickers. Good condition is defined as: a copy that has been read but remains in clean condition. All of the pages are intact and the cover is intact and the spine may show signs of wear. The book may have minor markings which are not specifically mentioned. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Bookseller Inventory # mon0005321465

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Tim Leach
ISBN 10: 0857899198 ISBN 13: 9780857899194
Used Quantity Available: 8
Seller
MegaBooksUK
(Wolsingham, A, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Very Good. Bookseller Inventory # SKU-2909389

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Tim Leach
ISBN 10: 0857899198 ISBN 13: 9780857899194
Used Quantity Available: 8
Seller
*BIG BANG BOOKS*
(Durham, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Very Good. Bookseller Inventory # SKU-2909389

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Tim Leach
ISBN 10: 0857899198 ISBN 13: 9780857899194
Used Quantity Available: 8
Seller
JULIES BOOKSHOP
(Consett, CO D, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Very Good. Bookseller Inventory # SKU-2909389

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Published by -
ISBN 10: 0857899198 ISBN 13: 9780857899194
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description -. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The Last King of Lydia This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. Bookseller Inventory # 7719-9780857899194

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.13
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Leach, Tim
Published by Atlantic Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0857899198 ISBN 13: 9780857899194
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Greener Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Very Good. **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # 2866636

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.53
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Leach, Tim
Published by Atlantic Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0857899198 ISBN 13: 9780857899194
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2014. Book Condition: Very Good. Reprint. Ships from the UK. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP93791358

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Leach, Tim
Published by Atlantic Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0857899198 ISBN 13: 9780857899194
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2014. Book Condition: Very Good. Reprint. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP82470842

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Leach, Tim
ISBN 10: 0857899198 ISBN 13: 9780857899194
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
FORTIUS LTD
(Aylesbury, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Fair. Bookseller Inventory # TT01492771B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.29
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Tim Leach
Published by ATLANTIC BOOKS, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0857899198 ISBN 13: 9780857899194
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ATLANTIC BOOKS, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Main. Language: English . Brand New Book. A defeated king stands on top of a pyre. His conqueror, the Persian ruler Cyrus, signals to his guards; they step forward and touch flaming torches to the dry wood. Croesus, once the wealthiest man of the ancient world, is to be burned alive. As he watches the flames catch, Croesus thinks back over his life. He remembers the time he asked the old Athenian philosopher, Solon, who was the happiest man in the world. Croesus used to think it was him. But then all his riches could not remove the spear from his dying elder son s chest; could not bring his mute younger son to speak; could not make him as wise as his own chief slave; could not bring his wife s love back; could not prevent his army from being torn apart and his kingdom lost. As the old philosopher had replied, a man s happiness can only be measured when he is dead. The first coils of smoke wrap around Croesus neck like a noose. Bookseller Inventory # AA99780857899194

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 17 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book