ISBN 10: 1480100064 / ISBN 13: 9781480100060
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.7 avg rating
(426 ratings)

Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Tina Fey, Jennifer Weiner, Nick Hornby, and Jen Lancaster, this wry, touching novel from the author of Driving Sideways follows a group of endearing misfits who form a family of choice to try and make sense of their families of origin.

WANTED:
a whole new family to share holidays with. Please have a good heart and be a thoughtful, polite person. No sociopaths, no pedophiles, no fans of the Kardashians. We're not weirdos, I promise. I love old Steve Martin movies, new Steve Martin banjo tunes, Indian food, and reruns of Bob Ross painting happy little trees. So if you're looking for something other than the typical family dysfunction this Christmas, drop us a line.

After losing her beloved mother to cancer, 37-year-old Jaime Collins must confront the ugly fact that she and her siblings don't actually like one another. At all. Fueled by grief and an epic argument at Thanksgiving dinner, Jaime decides to divorce her siblings and posts an ad on Craigslist for a new family with whom to share Christmas dinner.

What happens next is a heartwarming, funny, and surprising journey to forgiveness and healing. Is blood really thicker than water? What makes a family? And how far do we have to go to find our way back home again?

Dedicated to anyone who has ever wanted to unfriend a relative on Facebook, All the Lonely People is about family: those you make ... and those you make peace with.

From the Author: I wrote All the Lonely People two years ago, after I was hit pretty hard by the Story Question Stick: what would drive someone to post an ad for a new family, and what kind of people would answer it? In answer to the first part, things would have to be pretty sour with that family of origin ... and to the second: well, can you hear the Benny Hill theme music from here?

The sibling dynamic also fascinates me; and when one or both parents are gone, it seems like brothers and sisters face the real test of their relationship. (Speaking of which, my parents are both alive and well. My mother likes to joke about this book, though: "This is the one I die in, right?")

I hope that when you finish reading, you'll want to call your sister, hug your spouse, write a haiku, visit someone in a nursing home, adopt a three-legged dog. This is as close as I'll come to writing a Hallmark movie (on acid), and I hope it warms your heart, even a little.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Book Condition: Used

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Riley, Jess
ISBN 10: 1480100064 ISBN 13: 9781480100060
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
medimops
(Berlin, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: good. 422 Gramm. Seller Inventory # M01480100064-G

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.82
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Riley, Jess
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2012)
ISBN 10: 1480100064 ISBN 13: 9781480100060
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2012. Condition: Good. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP83440977

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Riley, Jess
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2012)
ISBN 10: 1480100064 ISBN 13: 9781480100060
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2012. Condition: Fair. Former Library book. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Seller Inventory # GRP94018960

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jess Riley
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN 10: 1480100064 ISBN 13: 9781480100060
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. Paperback. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. An ex-library book and may have standard library stamps and/or stickers. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G1480100064I3N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Riley, Jess
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2012)
ISBN 10: 1480100064 ISBN 13: 9781480100060
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2012. Condition: Good. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP92115975

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.70
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Jess Riley
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN 10: 1480100064 ISBN 13: 9781480100060
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. Paperback. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2896526430

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Riley, Jess
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishi (2012)
ISBN 10: 1480100064 ISBN 13: 9781480100060
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Half Price Books Inc.
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishi, 2012. Paperback. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_193850025

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 2.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Riley, Jess
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishi (2012)
ISBN 10: 1480100064 ISBN 13: 9781480100060
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB Inc.
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishi, 2012. Paperback. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_212423481

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Jess Riley
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2012)
ISBN 10: 1480100064 ISBN 13: 9781480100060
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Minden, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2012. Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Seller Inventory # 1480100064-2-4

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 10.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Riley, Jess
Published by Createspace (2012)
ISBN 10: 1480100064 ISBN 13: 9781480100060
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Createspace, 2012. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 4 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9781480100060

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.60
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 10 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book