You Don't Love Me Yet: A Novel

Lethem, Jonathan

Published by Doubleday, 2007
ISBN 10: 038551218X / ISBN 13: 9780385512183
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We have been selling books online for nearly 20 years, so buy with confidence. Every order is shipped the same day or the next day. This is a used book in good condition and may show some signs of use or wear . Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
2.8 avg rating
(4,165 ratings)

Synopsis:

From the incomparable Jonathan Lethem, a raucous romantic farce that explores the paradoxes of love and art

Lucinda Hoekke spends eight hours a day at the Complaint Line, listening to anonymous callers air their random grievances. Most of the time, the work is excruciatingly tedious. But one frequent caller, who insists on speaking only to Lucinda, captivates her with his off-color ruminations and opaque self-reflections. In blatant defiance of the rules, Lucinda and the Complainer arrange a face-to-face meeting—and fall desperately in love.
Consumed by passion, Lucinda manages only to tear herself away from the Complainer to practice with the alternative band in which she plays bass. The lead singer of the band is Matthew, a confused young man who works at the zoo and has kidnapped a kangaroo to save it from ennui. Denise, the drummer, works at No Shame, a masturbation boutique. The band’s talented lyricist, Bedwin, conflicted about the group’s as-yet-nonexistent fame, is suffering from writer’s block. Hoping to recharge the band’s creative energy, Lucinda “suggests” some of the Complainer’s philosophical musings to Bedwin. When Bedwin transforms them into brilliant songs, the band gets its big break, including an invitation to appear on L.A.’s premiere alternative radio show. The only problem is the Complainer. He insists on joining the band, with disastrous consequences for all.
Brimming with satire and sex, You Don’t Love Me Yet is a funny and affectionate send-up of the alternative band scene, the city of Los Angeles, and the entire genre of romantic comedy, but remains unmistakably the work of the inimitable Jonathan Lethem.

Review: With his sixth novel, You Don't Love Me Yet, Jonathan Lethem continues to show off his dexterity with the form, following up the coming-of-age epic The Fortress of Solitude with a dreamlike, comic portrait of the Los Angeles art scene. Lethem craftily sets up his ruse with a letter of complaint from Falmouth Strand (a seemingly minor character) who warns us that the book we are about to read completely misrepresents the truth. Falmouth is a former installation artist who has turned from sculpting objects to "manipulating people's despair, pensiveness, ennui." For his latest project, he has posted signs around Los Angeles: "Complaints? Call 213 291 7778." The novel centers around Lucinda (the perfect, unwitting instrument for Falmouth's manipulation), a bass player in a would-be indie rock quartet with nearly enough good songs for a 35-minute set (if you don't count the two they don't like anymore). Lucinda has vowed to stop sleeping with the band's lead singer Matthew (for real, this time), launching a search for true love as drunken and misguided as the band's search for a decent name. She abandons her upscale barista gig to answer complaint calls for Falmouth's conceptual art piece. Before long, she finds herself drawn to a regular whose curious words are "like a pulse detected in a vast dead carcass" of daily complaints. By way of Lucinda, the "genius" complainer's words spark the band's next song, setting them on a shaky upward trajectory all too familiar in the art world. Various characters want (or don't want) to take credit for the song's apparent success, but who deserves it? The complainer who nonchalantly rattled off the words, Lucinda who wrote them down, the remaining band members who collaboratively put them to music, or Falmouth himself, who passively engineered the whole thing?

Fans of Fortress and Motherless Brooklyn may find this novel's levity too drastic a shift, but even though Lethem is having a great time here with wordplay, a motley cast, and Lucinda's sexual meanderings, You Don't Love Me Yet is anything but a simple entertainment. He plays with our notions of art and authorship, enjoying a bit of advanced cribbery himself as he experiments with Shakespearean antics and inexplicable love match-ups. At every turn, Lethem seems to be asking sticky questions: Can anyone create the consummate intersection of dream, desire, and reality that art (and great sex) embodies? Will it last, and should it? Can any one writer capture that moment with a few meager words? If they did, how long would it take for it to be reduced to meaningless slogan? --Heidi Broadhead

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: You Don't Love Me Yet: A Novel
Publisher: Doubleday
Publication Date: 2007
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lethem, Jonathan
Published by Doubleday
ISBN 10: 038551218X ISBN 13: 9780385512183
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday. Hardcover. Condition: Fine. 038551218X Ships promptly from Texas. Seller Inventory # Z038551218XZ1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jonathan Lethem
Published by Doubleday
ISBN 10: 038551218X ISBN 13: 9780385512183
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2853183800

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Lethem, Jonathan
Published by Doubleday
ISBN 10: 038551218X ISBN 13: 9780385512183
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Wonder Book
(Frederick, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday. Condition: Very Good. . Very Good dust jacket. Seller Inventory # A04A-00498

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lethem, Jonathan
Published by Doubleday
ISBN 10: 038551218X ISBN 13: 9780385512183
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Wonder Book
(Frederick, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday. Condition: Very Good. . Good dust jacket. Seller Inventory # SB11D-00942

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jonathan Lethem
Published by Doubleday Religious Publishing Group, The
ISBN 10: 038551218X ISBN 13: 9780385512183
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday Religious Publishing Group, The. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in excellent condition. Pages are intact and are not marred by notes or highlighting, but may contain a neat previous owner name. The spine remains undamaged. An ex-library book and may have standard library stamps and/or stickers. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G038551218XI4N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Jonathan Lethem
Published by Doubleday Religious Publishing Group, The
ISBN 10: 038551218X ISBN 13: 9780385512183
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Second City
(Aurora, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday Religious Publishing Group, The. Hardcover. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. An ex-library book and may have standard library stamps and/or stickers. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G038551218XI3N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Jonathan Lethem
Published by Doubleday Religious Publishing Group, The
ISBN 10: 038551218X ISBN 13: 9780385512183
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Blue Cloud
(Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday Religious Publishing Group, The. Hardcover. Condition: As New. An apparently unread copy in perfect condition. Dust cover is intact; pages are clean and are not marred by notes or folds of any kind. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G038551218XI2N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Jonathan Lethem
Published by Doubleday Religious Publishing Group, The
ISBN 10: 038551218X ISBN 13: 9780385512183
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Silver Arch
(St Louis, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday Religious Publishing Group, The. Hardcover. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G038551218XI3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Jonathan Lethem
Published by Doubleday
ISBN 10: 038551218X ISBN 13: 9780385512183
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2895355459

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Jonathan Lethem
Published by Doubleday (2008)
ISBN 10: 038551218X ISBN 13: 9780385512183
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday, 2008. Condition: Very Good. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP91046758

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.70
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 85 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book