Stock Image

The Mark of the Dragonfly

Johnson, Jaleigh

Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers, U.S.A., 2014
ISBN 10: 0385376154 / ISBN 13: 9780385376150
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 1
From MacFinn's Books (Shenandoah, IA, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 50.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Returns Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: The Mark of the Dragonfly

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 2014

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: As New

Dust Jacket Condition: As New

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition

Description:

1st edition/1st printing in as new, unread condition. Signed by the author on the title page. No condition problems. Mylar covered. Bookseller Inventory # 000196

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.98 avg rating
(3,392 ratings)

Synopsis: For fans of Frozen, The City of Ember, and The School of Good and Evil, The Mark of the Dragonfly is a fast-paced adventure story about a mysterious girl and a fearless boy, set in a magical world that is both exciting and dangerous.
   Piper has never seen the Mark of the Dragonfly until she finds the girl amid the wreckage of a caravan in the Meteor Fields.
   The girl doesn't remember a thing about her life, but the intricate tattoo on her arm is proof that she's from the Dragonfly Territories and that she's protected by the king. Which means a reward for Piper if she can get the girl home.
   The one sure way to the Territories is the 401, a great old beauty of a train. But a ticket costs more coin than Piper could make in a year. And stowing away is a difficult prospect--everyone knows that getting past the peculiar green-eyed boy who stands guard is nearly impossible.
   Life for Piper just turned dangerous. A little bit magical. And very exciting, if she can manage to survive the journey.

Praise for The Mark of the Dragonfly:
 
[ STAR] ?This magnetic middle-grade debut?[is] a page-turner that defies easy categorization and ought to have broad appeal.?? Publishers Weekly, Starred
 
[ STAR] ?Heart, brains, and courage find a home in a steampunk fantasy worthy of a nod from Baum.?-- Kirkus Reviews, Starred
 
[ STAR] ?A fantastic and original tale of adventure and magic...Piper is a heroine to fall in love with: smart, brave, kind, and mechanically inclined to boot.?? School Library Journal, Starred
 
?A complex and impeccably developed plot?there is plenty to recommend in this novel.?? The Bulletin
 
?Appealing characters and lots of action make it a good choice for young adventure readers.?? Booklist

Product Description: Piper lives in a world where the veil into others is thin. Meteor storms rain down objects from other lands, which Piper and her neighbors gather and sell to the rich citizens of the Dragonfly territories. Scavenging these strange odds and ends is the only way to make money in the outer provinces.

Piper is good at gathering debris from the storms, but it's dangerous work. And one day, proof of just how dangerous is lying amongst the rubble of her carriage, unconscious.

The girl is beautiful and well dressed, and the dragonfly marking on her wrist confirms that she is the most valuable thing Piper's ever stumbled upon. But people don't leave valuables in the wastelands, so Piper decides to take her home.

It's who comes for the mysterious girl that begins a journey that will change both of their lives forever.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • Bank Draft
  • Check
  • MasterCard
  • Money Order
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Bookseller a Question]

Bookseller: MacFinn's Books
Address: Shenandoah, IA, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: March 16, 2012
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described
on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your
purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if
the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you¿ve
changed your mind about a book that you¿ve ordered, please
use the [Ask bookseller a question] link to contact us and
we'll respond within 2 business days.



Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.