My Misspent Youth: Essays (Compact Disc)

Meghan Daum

ISBN 10: 1681419319 / ISBN 13: 9781681419312
Used / Compact Disc / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this book is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. Please enter search terms below to find similar copies.

Description:

Compact Disc. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 0.136. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.55 avg rating
(2,077 ratings)

Synopsis: An essayist in the tradition of Joan Didion, Meghan Daum is one of the most celebrated nonfiction writers of her generation, widely recognized for her fresh, provocative approach with which she unearths the hidden fault lines in the American landscape. From her well remembered New Yorker essays about the financial demands of big-city ambition and the ethereal, strangely old-fashioned allure of cyber-relationships to her dazzlingly hilarious riff in Harper's about musical passions that give way to middle-brow paraphernalia, Daum delves into the center of things while closely examining the detritus that spills out along the way. With precision and well-balanced irony, Daum implicates herself as readily as she does the targets that fascinate and horrify her.

From the Inside Flap: For several years now, I've kept copies of some of these essays in a manila folder by my desk. When friends or colleagues ask if I know of any especially interesting new writers, I pull out the folder and head for the photocopier. Meghan DaumÕs essay Variations on Grief is one of the most stunningly honest things I've ever read. And throughout this book, there are a surprising number of moments when your jaw just drops in amazement at what she's saying. Even when she's being funny, her writing has a clarity and intensity that just makes you feel awake.

Ira Glass, host of This American Life

A Joan Didion for the new millennium, Meghan Daum brings grace, wit, and insight to contemporary life, love, manners, and money. Her misspent youth is a reader's delight.

Dan Wakefield, author of New York in the Fifties

A voice that is fresh and wickedly funny, bracing in its honesty

Bruce Jay Friedman

Meghan Daum has the true essayist's gift: she will say what no one else is willing to say (about being a shiksa, about leaving New York, about being unable to grieve), and through her eloquent and vivid candor she embodies for the reader nothing less than what it feels like to be alive in America right now.

David Shields

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: My Misspent Youth: Essays (Compact Disc)
Binding: Compact Disc
Book Condition: New

AbeBooks offers millions of new, used, rare and out-of-print books, as well as cheap textbooks from thousands of booksellers around the world. Shopping on AbeBooks is easy, safe and 100% secure - search for your book, purchase a copy via our secure checkout and the bookseller ships it straight to you.

Search thousands of booksellers selling millions of new & used books

New & Used Books

New & Used Books

New and used copies of new releases, best sellers and award winners. Save money with our huge selection.

AbeBooks Home

Rare & Out of Print Books

Rare & Out of Print Books

From scarce first editions to sought-after signatures, find an array of rare, valuable and highly collectible books.

Rare Books

Textbooks

Textbooks

Catch a break with big discounts and fantastic deals on new and used textbooks.

Textbooks

More Books to Discover