Monastery: Prayer, Work, Community

ISBN 10: 0060664959 / ISBN 13: 9780060664954
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Scarce older publication; appears mostly untouched and unread, shows very slight signs of prolonged shelf-life, likely out of print. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Recent publication with perhaps minor shelf-wear. Else, a very decent copy. The text block is free of marks. The page ends are straight and free of marks. Faded border along page extremities due to age. The cover front and back is in excellent shape. The dust jacket is clean and undamaged. Dust Jacket has been placed in archival Mylar sheath for lasting protection. The page-ends have tanned or faded from prolonged shelf-life. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4 avg rating
(1 ratings)

Synopsis: From dust jacket notes: "In the tradition of Saint Francis of Assisi and Mother of God, this lavish, full-color book combines revealing text, exquisite reproductions of traditional art, and striking contemporary photographs in an unparalleled glimpse behind monastic walls. Monastery provides an informative, fascinating account of the ancient roots of the monastic way of life; its flowering during the Middle Ages, when the principles and elements of spirituality scattered through the works of the Church Fathers were gathered together by the first great founders; and a compelling look at the continuing traditions and realities of cloistered life today....Monastery does not stop with mere surface appreciation of ancient and modern monasteries throughout the world: author and photographer deeply explore the experience of life in these communities. Monastery introduces us to the monks and sisters within the walls and shows us how they live and why they have chosen this life. Pennington and Sapieha make exceptional guides for an insider's look at the monasteries, convents, and hermitages, both cloistered and open, that comprise a rich but largely unknown world....Monastery also includes selections of key writings from the monastic traditions and a chronology of monasticism's most important moments."

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Monastery: Prayer, Work, Community
Book Condition: New

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

M. Basil Pennington
Published by Scala/Harper & Row (1983)
ISBN 10: 0060664959 ISBN 13: 9780060664954
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scala/Harper & Row, 1983. Book Condition: Good. 1st. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP8880070

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

M. Basil Pennington
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0060664959 ISBN 13: 9780060664954
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Green Earth
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Light shelving wear with minimal damage to cover and bindings. Pages show minor use. Bookseller Inventory # G0060664959I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

M. Basil Pennington
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0060664959 ISBN 13: 9780060664954
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Light shelf wear and minimal interior marks. Bookseller Inventory # G0060664959I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

M. Basil Pennington
Published by Scala/Harper & Row
ISBN 10: 0060664959 ISBN 13: 9780060664954
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Wonder Book
(Frederick, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scala/Harper & Row. Book Condition: Good. . Good dust jacket. Bookseller Inventory # L15E-00814

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Pennington, M. Basil
Published by Scala/Harper & Row
ISBN 10: 0060664959 ISBN 13: 9780060664954
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Hawking Books
(Lake Arrowhead, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scala/Harper & Row. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. 0060664959 Ex-library book with usual markings. Meets or exceeds the good condition guidelines. Nice copy. Five star seller - Buy with confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # Z0060664959Z3

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Pennington, M. Basil
Published by Harper & Row, New York (1983)
ISBN 10: 0060664959 ISBN 13: 9780060664954
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper & Row, New York, 1983. Hard Cover. Book Condition: Very Good+. No Jacket. Photographs by Nicolas Sapieha (illustrator). First Edition stated. 127pp Size: Oblong 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 007990

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Pennington, M. Basil
Published by Scala/Harper & Row (1983)
ISBN 10: 0060664959 ISBN 13: 9780060664954
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Women
(Sumas, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scala/Harper & Row, 1983. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Oblong hardcover. Sound & nice copy, light to moderate edgewear. Jacket is nice, light to moderate rubbing/edgewear. May not be available for international shipment at usual rates due to weight/size. Bookseller Inventory # 531235n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.75
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Pennington, M. Basil
ISBN 10: 0060664959 ISBN 13: 9780060664954
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Store
(W Bridgewater, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sapieha, Nicolas (illustrator). Pennington, M. Basil., Harper & Row Pub./A Scala Book., nd (1983), c1983, 1st Edition, cloth, fine w/corner clipped dj (minor stain), 127 pp w/color plate captions, full page color photographic illus. by Nicolas Sapieha, 8 1/2" x 10 3/4" (oblong), $10.00. Bookseller Inventory # 329410

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 10.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Pennington, M. Basil
Published by Harper & Row, San Francisco (1983)
ISBN 10: 0060664959 ISBN 13: 9780060664954
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Marc19063
(Media, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper & Row, San Francisco, 1983. Hard Cover. Book Condition: Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good. First Edition. 127 pages. No markings. (KF5000). Bookseller Inventory # 012946

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Pennington, M. Basil
Published by Harper & Row, San Francisco, CA (1983)
ISBN 10: 0060664959 ISBN 13: 9780060664954
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Jen's Books
(Douglas, WY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper & Row, San Francisco, CA, 1983. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good. Photos By Sapieha, Nicolas (illustrator). Stated First Edition. book is in very good condition with a very good jacket. no markings. tight and square binding. light shelf wear- nicks and bumps. minimal soiling. Bookseller Inventory # 017019

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 8.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 24 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book