Stock Image
Buy Used
Price: US$ 30.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.75 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Returns Policy

Moon Women: A Novel

Duncan, Pamela

883 ratings by GoodReads
ISBN 10: 0385335180 / ISBN 13: 9780385335188
Published by Delacorte Press, 2001
Used Condition Fine Hardcover
From Southron Books, LLC (Lexington, SC, U.S.A.) Quantity Available: 1
Available From More sellers View all  copies of this book

Signed by Author 0385335180 This hardcover book is square and tight. The boards and spine have no wear with pristine lettering. The pages and endpages are clean, with no markings or folds. The dustjacket is As New. Original Price is intact. Not ex-lib. No remainder mark. Signed by the Author on the title page and with the following inscription in her hand: "For Johnny-a brave man not afraid to read a chick book!". Bookseller Inventory # 004944

About this title:

Synopsis:

With the grace of a natural storyteller, debut novelist Pamela Duncan crafts a mesmerizing tale of family and love, revelation and forgiveness. Beautifully wrought, deeply affecting, Moon Women is a resounding portrait of three generations of remarkable women, separated by a secret only one of them can tell.

In the lush North Carolina foothills, the Moon women have put down roots: matriarch Marvelle Moon, who?s starting to lose her grip on the world after more than eighty years of life; her middle-aged daughters, Ruth Ann and Cassandra; and Ruth Ann?s nineteen-year-old daughter, Ashley, fresh out of rehab, unmarried, and three months pregnant.

Despite Ruth Ann?s best efforts to live a life that?s all her own, her family is coming together around her. Marvelle and Ashley need a place to live and Ruth Ann is unable to turn either of them away; and her womanizing ex-husband has been coming around again, dredging up the past. Now a flurry of outbursts, emotions, and outrages is shattering Ruth Ann?s separate peace. And as this flawed family comes together, so, too, do the stories of the people Ruth Ann thought she knew best.

For here is Ashley, who has spent nineteen years running furiously away from home, now finding herself on a strange journey with her unraveling grandmother. And here is Cassandra, protected by layers of obesity and loneliness, wondering how to put magic back in her life. And Marvelle, slowly losing touch with reality, privately contemplating the story of her life and the secret that would change everything for everyone ? if they only knew....

By turns fierce and tender, harrowing and heartbreaking, Moon Women resonates with emotional power, holding us captive under its beguiling spell. It is an astonishing debut from a powerfully original new voice in contemporary fiction.

From the Back Cover: ? Moon Women contemplates what it means to be a mother, a daughter, a wife, a sister. Beyond even those themes, it's wonderful to read a writer who captures the setting and personality of North Carolina so honestly, passionately, and triumphantly.?
? Creative Loafing

?In the tradition of Fannie Flagg and Rebecca Wells comes a Southern-fried debut.... Duncan shows promise as a from-the-heart quirky storyteller.?
-- Publishers Weekly

?Impressive ... The Moon women, old and young, are great ones for musing, and Duncan deftly handles multiple points of view as they present their hardships and joys in richly textured reminiscences.... Leisurely pace and authentic southern voice: a pleasure to be savored, by a writer to watch.?
? Kirkus Reviews

?Reading Moon Women is like falling into a feather bed ? you?ll want to snuggle in, settle down, and stay right there until you have turned the last wonderful page.?
? Lee Smith, author of Fair and Tender Ladies

?Irresistible. Once these Moon women start talking, you can?t stop turning the pages of this extraordinary, beautifully crafted novel.?
? Angela Davis-Gardner, author of Forms of Shelter and Felice

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Moon Women: A Novel

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publication Date: 2001

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: As New

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: First Edition.

Payment Methods

Payment Methods Accepted by Seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order Cash PayPal Bank Draft Bank/Wire Transfer

Seller Southron Books, LLC
Address: Lexington, SC, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Seller Since December 7, 2011
Seller Rating 5-star rating


Terms of Sale:

A. David Ruple. Southron Books, LLC. 602 East Main Street Suite D Lexington SC 29072. adruple@sc.rr.com. (803) 520-8098.



Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.


Store Description: We focus primarily on First Editions, Modern Fiction, Southern Fiction, South Caroliniana, and South Carolina authors.