The Other Mrs Walker

PAULSON ELLIS MARY

Published by MACMILLAN EXPORT OME, 2016
ISBN 10: 1447293916 / ISBN 13: 9781447293910
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.41 avg rating
(782 ratings)

Synopsis: The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters. Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name . . . In a freezing, desolate Edinburgh flat an old woman takes her last breath surrounded by the few objects she has accrued over a lifetime: an emerald dress, a brazil nut engraved with the ten commandments - and six orange pips sucked dry. Meanwhile, guided by the flip of a coin, Margaret Penny arrives back at her old family home, escaping a life in London recently turned to ash. Faced with relying on a resentful mother she has never really known, Margaret soon finds herself employed by the Office for Lost People, tasked with finding the families of the dead: the neglected, the abandoned, the lost. Her instructions are to uncover paperwork, yet the only thing Mrs Walker, the old woman in her current case, left behind is a series of peculiar objects. But in the end it is these objects that will unravel Mrs Walker's real story: a story rooted in the London grime and moving from the 1930s to the present day, a story of children abandoned and lost, of beguiling sisters and misplaced mothers, of deception and thievery, family secrets and the very deepest of betrayals; in which the extraordinary circular nature of life will glitter from the page. For in uncovering the astonishing tale of an old woman who died alone, Margaret will finally discover her own story too . . .

About the Author: Mary Paulson-Ellis lives in Edinburgh. She has an MLitt in Creative Writing from the University of Glasgow and was awarded the inaugural Curtis Brown Prize for Fiction in 2009 and the Maverick Award from the Tom McGrath Trust in 2011. Her short stories and non-fiction have been published in a variety of anthologies and magazines including New Writing Scotland, Gutter and the Herald. The Other Mrs Walker is her debut novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Other Mrs Walker
Publisher: MACMILLAN EXPORT OME
Publication Date: 2016
Book Condition: Good
Edition: Air Iri OME.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Paulson-Ellis, Mary
Published by Mantle (2016)
ISBN 10: 1447293916 ISBN 13: 9781447293910
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mantle, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001857248

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.56
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Paulson Ellis Mary, Paulson Ellis Mary
ISBN 10: 1447293916 ISBN 13: 9781447293910
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 24321384-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

ISBN 10: 1447293916 ISBN 13: 9781447293910
New Quantity Available: 7
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97814472939100000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Mary Paulson-Ellis
Published by Pan Macmillan (2016)
ISBN 10: 1447293916 ISBN 13: 9781447293910
New Softcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Macmillan, 2016. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9781447293910

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.52
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Mary Paulson-Ellis
Published by Pan MacMillan, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 1447293916 ISBN 13: 9781447293910
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan MacMillan, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Air Iri OME. Language: English . Brand New Book. The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters. Somehow she d always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name .In a freezing, desolate Edinburgh flat an old woman takes her last breath surrounded by the few objects she has accrued over a lifetime: an emerald dress, a brazil nut engraved with the ten commandments - and six orange pips sucked dry. Meanwhile, guided by the flip of a coin, Margaret Penny arrives back at her old family home, escaping a life in London recently turned to ash. Faced with relying on a resentful mother she has never really known, Margaret soon finds herself employed by the Office for Lost People, tasked with finding the families of the dead: the neglected, the abandoned, the lost. Her instructions are to uncover paperwork, yet the only thing Mrs Walker, the old woman in her current case, left behind is a series of peculiar objects. But in the end it is these objects that will unravel Mrs Walker s real story: a story rooted in the London grime and moving from the 1930s to the present day, a story of children abandoned and lost, of beguiling sisters and misplaced mothers, of deception and thievery, family secrets and the very deepest of betrayals; in which the extraordinary circular nature of life will glitter from the page. For in uncovering the astonishing tale of an old woman who died alone, Margaret will finally discover her own story too . Bookseller Inventory # LIB9781447293910

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Mary Paulson-Ellis
Published by Pan MacMillan, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 1447293916 ISBN 13: 9781447293910
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan MacMillan, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Air Iri OME. Language: English . Brand New Book. The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters. Somehow she d always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name .In a freezing, desolate Edinburgh flat an old woman takes her last breath surrounded by the few objects she has accrued over a lifetime: an emerald dress, a brazil nut engraved with the ten commandments - and six orange pips sucked dry. Meanwhile, guided by the flip of a coin, Margaret Penny arrives back at her old family home, escaping a life in London recently turned to ash. Faced with relying on a resentful mother she has never really known, Margaret soon finds herself employed by the Office for Lost People, tasked with finding the families of the dead: the neglected, the abandoned, the lost. Her instructions are to uncover paperwork, yet the only thing Mrs Walker, the old woman in her current case, left behind is a series of peculiar objects. But in the end it is these objects that will unravel Mrs Walker s real story: a story rooted in the London grime and moving from the 1930s to the present day, a story of children abandoned and lost, of beguiling sisters and misplaced mothers, of deception and thievery, family secrets and the very deepest of betrayals; in which the extraordinary circular nature of life will glitter from the page. For in uncovering the astonishing tale of an old woman who died alone, Margaret will finally discover her own story too . Bookseller Inventory # LIB9781447293910

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Mary Paulson-Ellis
Published by Pan Macmillan Mrz 2016 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1447293916 ISBN 13: 9781447293910
New Taschenbuch Quantity Available: 2
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Macmillan Mrz 2016, 2016. Taschenbuch. Book Condition: Neu. Neuware - A detective story with no detective THE OTHER MRS WALKER is a beautiful, beguiling and intensely moving debut by Mary Paulson-Ellis. 434 pp. Englisch. Bookseller Inventory # 9781447293910

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 14.11
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Mary Paulson-Ellis
Published by Pan Macmillan Mrz 2016 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1447293916 ISBN 13: 9781447293910
New Taschenbuch Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Rheinberg-Buch
(Bergisch Gladbach, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Macmillan Mrz 2016, 2016. Taschenbuch. Book Condition: Neu. Neuware - A detective story with no detective THE OTHER MRS WALKER is a beautiful, beguiling and intensely moving debut by Mary Paulson-Ellis. 434 pp. Englisch. Bookseller Inventory # 9781447293910

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 20.14
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Mary Paulson-Ellis
Published by Pan Macmillan Mrz 2016 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1447293916 ISBN 13: 9781447293910
New Taschenbuch Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Agrios-Buch
(Bergisch Gladbach, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Macmillan Mrz 2016, 2016. Taschenbuch. Book Condition: Neu. Neuware - A detective story with no detective THE OTHER MRS WALKER is a beautiful, beguiling and intensely moving debut by Mary Paulson-Ellis. 434 pp. Englisch. Bookseller Inventory # 9781447293910

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 20.14
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Mary Paulson-Ellis
Published by Pan Macmillan Mrz 2016 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1447293916 ISBN 13: 9781447293910
New Taschenbuch Quantity Available: 2
Seller
AHA-BUCH GmbH
(Einbeck, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Macmillan Mrz 2016, 2016. Taschenbuch. Book Condition: Neu. Neuware - The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters. 448 pp. Englisch. Bookseller Inventory # 9781447293910

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 34.68
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 8 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book