New Life, No Instructions: A Memoir

Caldwell, Gail

Published by Random House Audio
ISBN 10: 0804190852 / ISBN 13: 9780804190855
Used / Audio CD / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Light shelf wear and minimal interior marks. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.62 avg rating
(1,015 ratings)

Synopsis: The Pulitzer Prize winner and New York Times bestselling author of Let?s Take the Long Way Home now gives us a stunning, exquisitely written memoir about a dramatic turning point in her life, which unexpectedly opened up a world of understanding, possibility, and connection. New Life, No Instructions is about the surprising way life can begin again, at any age.
 
?What do you do when the story changes in midlife? When a tale you have told yourself turns out to be a little untrue, just enough to throw the world off-kilter? It?s like leaving the train at the wrong stop: You are still you, but in a new place, there by accident or grace, and you will need your wits about you to proceed.
 
?Any change that matters, or takes, begins as immeasurably small. Then it accumulates, moss on stone, and after a few thousand years of not interfering, you have a glen, or a waterfall, or a field of hope where sorrow used to be.
 
?I suppose all of us consider our loved ones extraordinary; that is one of the elixirs of attachment. But over the months of pain and disrepair of that winter, I felt something that made the grimness tolerable: I felt blessed by the tribe I was part of. Here I was, supposedly solo, and the real truth was that I had a force field of connection surrounding me.
 
?Most of all I told this story because I wanted to say something about hope and the absence of it, and how we keep going anyway. About second chances, and how they?re sometimes buried amid the dross, even when you?re poised for the downhill grade. The narrative can always turn out to be a different story from what you expected.?
 
Praise for New Life, No Instructions
 
?Brimming with insights and wisdom . . . As far as I?m concerned, Caldwell can write about whatever she pleases. . . . Unabashed dispatches from lifelong single women are a fairly recent phenomenon. Caldwell has so much more to teach us.? ?Kate Bolick, The New York Times Book Review

?Gail Caldwell offers the kind of wisdom and grace you?d wish a friend, sister, or mother might deliver. . . . Fans and new readers alike will find comfort in Caldwell?s voice.? ?The Boston Globe
 
?Quiet but powerful . . . an absorbing meditation on grief and rebirth in midlife.? ?More
 
?Eloquent and uplifting . . . [a story] to inspire you.? ?Good Housekeeping
 
?Graceful and reflective.? ?USA Today
 
?[Caldwell] confronts, with pluck and fortitude, the hurdles that life throws her way.? ?Publishers Weekly
 
?An uplifting journey . . . This book celebrates finding support where you least expect it.? ?Woman?s Day
 
?[A] beautifully written memoir.? ?Parade
 
?[A] thoughtful, wide-eyed view of the world . . . [Caldwell] ably explores the shifts of our hearts.? ?Kirkus Reviews
 
?Getting old, as they say, is not for sissies, and no one would call Pulitzer Prize?winner Caldwell a wimp. . . . There may not have been a road map for the life-changing trip [she] was about to take, but . . . Caldwell realized she had the power to endure.? ?Booklist

From the Hardcover edition.

Product Description: The New York Times bestselling author of Let?s Take the Long Way Home now gives us a stunning, exquisitely written memoir about a dramatic turning point in her life, and about the surprising way life can begin again, at any age?perfect for readers of Anne Lamott, Kelly Corrigan, and Mary Karr.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: New Life, No Instructions: A Memoir
Publisher: Random House Audio

Binding: Audio CD
Book Condition: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Caldwell, Gail
Published by Random House Audio (2014)
ISBN 10: 0804190852 ISBN 13: 9780804190855
Used Quantity Available: 15
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Audio, 2014. Book Condition: As New. Unabridged. N/A. Book in almost Brand New condition. Bookseller Inventory # GRP86579491

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Caldwell, Gail
ISBN 10: 0804190852 ISBN 13: 9780804190855
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Addis Books
(Cheyenne, WY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description No binding. Book Condition: Good. Former library audio book. Will have library markings and stickers and possibly no inserts. Plays perfectly. audio book. Bookseller Inventory # 012-5F5A-XXEB

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Caldwell, Gail
Published by Random House Audio (2014)
ISBN 10: 0804190852 ISBN 13: 9780804190855
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Audio, 2014. Book Condition: Used. This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_usedgood_0804190852

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 12.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gail Caldwell
ISBN 10: 0804190852 ISBN 13: 9780804190855
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Like New. Book Condition: Like New. Bookseller Inventory # 97808041908552.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 8.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Caldwell, Gail
Published by Random House Audio (2014)
ISBN 10: 0804190852 ISBN 13: 9780804190855
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Audio, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service!. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0804190852

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Gail Caldwell
ISBN 10: 0804190852 ISBN 13: 9780804190855
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97808041908551.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Caldwell, Gail
Published by Random House Audio (2014)
ISBN 10: 0804190852 ISBN 13: 9780804190855
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Nearfine Books
(Brooklyn, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Audio, 2014. Book Condition: very good. Gently used. Expect delivery in 2-3 weeks. Bookseller Inventory # 9780804190855-3

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 14.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Caldwell, Gail/ Caldwell, Gail (Narrator)
Published by Random House (2014)
ISBN 10: 0804190852 ISBN 13: 9780804190855
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2014. Audio CD. Book Condition: Brand New. unabridged edition. 4 pages. 6.00x5.25x1.00 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # 0804190852

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 74.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.55
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds