Stock Image

Night Film

Pessl, Marisha

Published by Hutchinson, London, 2013
ISBN 10: 0091953782 / ISBN 13: 9780091953782
/ Condition: Very Good + / Soft cover
Quantity Available: 1
From Black Falcon Books (Wellesley, MA, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 25.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Return Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: Night Film

Publisher: Hutchinson, London

Publication Date: 2013

Binding: Paperback

Book Condition: Very Good +

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: First Edition

Book Type: Galley/Proof

Description:

Proof copy of first U.K. edition, in illustrated wraps. Laid in is a signed form letter from Robert Collins, Deputy Literary Editor of "The Sunday Times," to "Stephen," asking for 500 words by August 14 for which payment will be 275 pounds. Subsequent publication of a review on 8/25/2013 in "The Sunday Times" suggests author is Stephen Amidon, American novelist and writer (and father of Boston College football receiver Alexander). The form letter has many hand-written notes about the book on the back, and the book has a few underlinings and marginalia. Spine is slanted and creased; minor edgewear to wraps; Mylar protected. Bookseller Inventory # 006584

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.78 avg rating
(53,419 ratings)

Synopsis: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR Cosmopolitan Kirkus Reviews BookPage

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy?the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.

 
On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley?s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova?a man who hasn?t been seen in public for more than thirty years.
 
For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova?s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.
 
Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova?s eerie, hypnotic world.
 
The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.
 
Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.

Praise for Night Film
 
?Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl?s deft touch with character.??Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review
 
?Mysterious and even a little head-spinning, an amazing act of imagination.??Dean Baquet, The New York Times Book Review
 
?Maniacally clever . . . Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche. . . . As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself. . . . Dastardly fun . . . The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe. . . . You?ll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on.??The Washington Post
 
?Haunting . . . a suspenseful, sprawling page-turner.??USA Today
 
?Entrancing and delightful . . . [a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller . . . It feels, above all things, new.??The Boston Globe
 
?Gripping . . . a masterful puzzle . . . Pessl builds up real suspense.??Entertainment Weekly
 
?A very deeply imagined book . . . sprints to an ending that?s equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there?s some secret detail that will snap everything into focus.??New York
 
?Hypnotic . . . The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film . . . but in Pessl?s own Night Film as well.??Vanity Fair
From the Hardcover edition.

Review: An Amazon Best Book of the Month, August 2013: As she proved with her first book (Special Topics in Calamity Physics), Pessl is a sly, smart, sophisticated writer. What?s surprising about her elaborately plotted and addictive new novel is how it gets better as it grows more convoluted. I can envision a massive white board busy with diagrams and arrows to track the spider-webbed storyline. Once Pessl works past a few slow spots and finds her momentum, the story churns into a dark, propulsive, and insatiable mystery. The daughter of a reclusive horror film director is found dead, and a disgraced journalist and two sidekicks become obsessed with uncovering the truth of her death and the true identity of her infamous father, whose terrifying films (banned from theaters and found only via underground methods) depict what is ?graphic and dark and gorgeous about life, thereby conquering the monsters of your mind.? Complex, shadowy, and a bit sad, Pessl?s riveting tale keeps us guessing until the final pages, along the way raising questions about reality, magic, art, fear, and celebrity. Sprinkled throughout are clever page props--website screenshots, news clippings, smudged police reports, and coffee-stained transcripts. It all holds together impressively, with a satisfying payoff that?ll leave you spent and sorry the ride is over. Special note to impatient readers (like me): stick with it, and savor it. You?ll be glad you did. --Neal Thompson

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Seller a Question]

Bookseller: Black Falcon Books
Address: Wellesley, MA, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: July 23, 2012
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If
you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged)
or if the
order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the
estimated delivery
date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use
the Ask
bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business
days.
Mark Mayell
27 Seaver St.
Wellesley, MA 02481
United State...

[More Information]

Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books
weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact
you to let you know extra shipping is required.


Store Description: Black Falcon Books is an online seller with a broad range of titles, including fiction and nonfiction, hardcover and paperback, many of them signed by authors.