The Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs

Cylin Busby

Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2016
ISBN 10: 0553511238 / ISBN 13: 9780553511239
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! L. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.21 avg rating
(241 ratings)

Synopsis: For fans of Katherine Applegate's The One and Only Ivan comes the swashbuckling story of a little cat's adventures on the high seas
 
Captain Natick does not want to take a kitten on board his ship when it sets sail in 1837, but his daughter convinces him that the scrawny yellow cat will bring good luck. Onto the ship the kitten goes, and so begins the adventurous, cliff-hanging, lucky life of Jacob Tibbs. At first, Jacob’s entire world is the ship’s hold, where the sailors heave their heavy loads and long-tailed rats scurry in the darkness. But before long, Jacob’s voyage takes him above deck and onward to adventure. Along the way, Jacob will encounter loss and despair, brave thunderous storms at sea, face down a mutiny, survive on a desert island, and above all, navigate the tricky waters of shipboard life and loyalties.

Praise for The Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs

"Original, surprisingly intense. . . . A beautiful piece of writing."  --Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times-bestselling author of Counting by 7s

"Rarely does a book come along that I finish and think, 'This is going to be a classic.' This is that book." --Jo Knowles, author of See You at Harry's

"Emotional resonance and chockablock seafaring adventures combined with coming-of-age themes takes this over the top. . . An outstanding choice for fans of middle grade nautical adventure and animal narrator novels." --School Library Journal, starred review

"With engrossing action and great character description and development, Busby has created a story that will enthrall fans of animal fantasy. Kelley's full-page drawings add to this well-crafted tale, which many readers may come to treasure." --Booklist, starred review

"In addition to giving Jacob an engaging narrative voice, Busby fills the novel with nautical lore and lingo, making Jacob's journey one to savor." --Publishers Weekly

"An absorbing historical coming-of-age adventure supported by deeper themes of grief, despair, and determination."  --Kirkus Reviews

About the Author: CYLIN BUSBY is the author of several fiction and nonfiction books for young readers. Her memoir, The Year We Disappeared—co-written with her father, John Busby—was a Wall Street Journal bestseller, a Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year, and a Cybils Award winner. While living on a farm in Tennessee, Cylin’s family kept more than twenty cats in the barn, whose job it was to keep the livestock feed free of vermin. The cat in this book is based on one of those cats—Graybeard—who was born a feeble, sickly runt and went on to become a great mouser. Cylin lives in Los Angeles with her husband and their son. Learn more about Cylin at cylinbusby.com.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: 2016
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Used: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Busby, Cylin
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers (2016)
ISBN 10: 0553511238 ISBN 13: 9780553511239
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2016. Book Condition: Very Good. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP94488352

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Busby, Cylin
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers (2016)
ISBN 10: 0553511238 ISBN 13: 9780553511239
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2016. Book Condition: Very Good. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP96453755

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Cylin Busby
Published by Random House Children's Books
ISBN 10: 0553511238 ISBN 13: 9780553511239
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blue Cloud Books
(Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Children's Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Bookseller Inventory # G0553511238I5N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Cylin Busby
Published by Random House Children's Books
ISBN 10: 0553511238 ISBN 13: 9780553511239
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Books Squared
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Children's Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Dust Cover Missing. Only lightly used. Book has minimal wear to cover and binding. A few pages may have small creases and minimal underlining. Bookseller Inventory # G0553511238I3N11

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Cylin Busby
Published by Random House Children's Books
ISBN 10: 0553511238 ISBN 13: 9780553511239
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Yankee Clipper Books
(Windsor Locks, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Children's Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book shows a small amount of wear to cover and binding. Some pages show signs of use. Bookseller Inventory # G0553511238I3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Busby, Cylin
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers (2016)
ISBN 10: 0553511238 ISBN 13: 9780553511239
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Dream Books Company, LLC
(Englewood, CO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2016. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Used book with normal wear and tear and may contain writing. Stock photo may be different from actual book cover. Please feel free to contact us for additional photos or details about this item. International Customers: Items over 3 lbs may incur additional shipping charges. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000862259

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

ISBN 10: 0553511238 ISBN 13: 9780553511239
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
New Legacy Books
(Hackettstown, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: LikeNew. Fast shipping and order satisfaction guaranteed. A portion of your purchase benefits charities and literacy groups!. Bookseller Inventory # 0WOF8I000AQI

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

ISBN 10: 0553511238 ISBN 13: 9780553511239
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Seattle Goodwill
(Seattle, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Good. May have some shelf-wear due to normal use. Bookseller Inventory # 0KVBKE003ABT

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

ISBN 10: 0553511238 ISBN 13: 9780553511239
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Goodwill Books
(Hillsboro, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Acceptable. Reading copy. May have signs of wear and previous use (scuffs, writing, underlining). Dust jacket may be missing. Bookseller Inventory # 3IIL01001HBE

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Busby, Cylin
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers 2016-02-02 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0553511238 ISBN 13: 9780553511239
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bellwetherbooks
(McKeesport, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf Books for Young Readers 2016-02-02, 2016. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. 0553511238 Very Good Condition- May show some limited signs of wear and may have a remainder mark. Pages and dust cover are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. Tracking is not available for orders shipped outside of the United States. **Heavier books will require additional postage for International** PA Sales Tax is included in purchase price. Bookseller Inventory # RH-HC39-VG-M-0553511238

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 2.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 32 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book