Stock Image

The North End Poems

Michael Knox

4 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 155022817X / ISBN 13: 9781550228175
Published by Ecw Press, 2008
Used Condition: Used: Like New Soft cover
From BookHouse On-Line (Minneapolis, MN, U.S.A.)

Heritage Bookseller
AbeBooks Member Since 1996

Quantity Available: 1

About this Item

Pristine copy, appears never to have been opened, no owner's marks, textual notes, etc. Bookseller Inventory # 133891

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The North End Poems

Publisher: Ecw Press

Publication Date: 2008

Binding: Paperback

Book Condition:Used: Like New

About this title

Synopsis:

With The North End Poems, his always vivid new collection, Michael Knox has further honed his lucid, accessible style. In the tradition of The Collected Works of Billy the Kid, Michael Ondaatje’s classic book-length poem, this at once gritty and tender lyric sequence creates a desperate but surprising narrative that’s reminiscent of David Adams Richards at his very best. Channeling the beliefs, passions, fears, friends and fights of Nick Macfarlane, a young steeltown warehouse worker, Knox creates the kind of hardscrabble, blue collar world that exists everywhere. Benders and punchups, beaters and punchclocks, give The North End Poems the means to explore notions of masculinity in both familial and social environs. Because this is a world largely without the presence of women, Nick’s perspective takes a significant turn when he meets someone from the other side of the tracks a University student named Carla who challenges him to think about a life beyond the north end and outside of what he thought possible.

About the Author:

Michael Knox is a writer and teacher. Raised in Hamilton and now living in Toronto, Knox’s work has appeared in literary magazines in Canada and internationally. His critically acclaimed debut collection, Play Out the Match, was published by ECW Press in 2006.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Located near the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, we've been providing quality used books to the Twin Cities area for over 30 years. With over 30,000 books in the store and over 30,000 in our warehouse, there's plenty to look at both in store and online.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Our phone number is 612-331-1430. We take Visa, Mastercard and American Express,
but ABE will process your credit card unless it is American Express. We also
take checks, but you must notify us directly to hold a book for check and
shipment. We ship & bill to libraries. Shipping terms are set by ABE. All books
returnable for any reason. The Book House in Dinkytown, Inc (U.S. S-Corp). 1316
4th Street SE, Suite 201, Minneapolis, MN 55414. Our email is
bookhouseonline@gmail.com. Please address your...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books
weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact
you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

PayPal