Up from Orchard Street -

Eleanor Widmer

Published by Blackstone Audio, 2013
ISBN 10: 0786177802 / ISBN 13: 9780786177806
New / Quantity Available: 0
From C. Clayton Thompson - Bookseller (BOONE, NC, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. Here are our closest matches for Up from Orchard Street - by Eleanor Widmer.

Description:

BRAND NEW Audiobook on CD Rom - Unabridged A Brand New Quality Audiobook from a Full-Time Veteran Owned Bookshop in business since 1992!. Bookseller Inventory # 2243307

About this title:

Synopsis: Three generations of Roths live together in a crowded tenement flat. Long-widowed Manya is the family's head and its heart. She's renowned throughout the neighborhood for her cooking, and every noontime the front room of the flat turns into Manya's private restaurant. But Manya is no soft touch, except, perhaps, where her granddaughter Elka is concerned. Precocious Elka is her closest companion and confidante. Through Elka's eyes we come to know the fascinating characters who move in and out of the Roths' lives. Money may have been short but opinions were not, and their tart tongues and lively humor abound. In this riveting story lies the heart of the American immigrant experience: a novel at once wise, funny, poignant, anguishing, exultant, and bursting with love.

From the Inside Flap: In the tradition of "Like Water for Chocolate and "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, this exhilarating novel centered around a memorable immigrant family brings to vibrant life the soul and spirit of New York's legendary Lower East Side.
Up from Orchard Street...
...where three generations of Roths live together in a crowded tenement flat at number 12. Long-widowed Manya is the family's head and its heart: mother of dapper Jack, mother-in-law of frail and beautiful Lil, and adored bubby of Elka and Willy. She's renowned throughout the teeming neighborhood for her mouthwatering cooking, and every noontime the front room of the flat turns into Manya's private restaurant, where the local merchants come to savor her hearty stews and soups, succulent potato latkes and tzimmes, preserved fruits and glorious pastries.
She is just as renowned for her fierce sense of honor, her quick eye for charlatans, and her generosity to those in need. But Manya is no soft touch-except, perhaps, where her adored granddaughter Elka is concerned. It is skinny, precocious Elka who is her closest companion and confidante-and the narrator of this event-packed novel. Through Elka's eyes we come to know the fascinating characters who come in and out of the Roths' lives: relatives, eccentric locals, doctors, busybody neighbors-as well as the many men who try fruitlessly to win voluptuous Manya's favors. We live through the bittersweet world of these blunt, earthy, feisty people for whom poverty was endemic, illness common, crises frequent, and zest for living intense. Money may have been short but opinions were not, and their tart tongues and lively humor invest every page. In this riveting story lies the heartof the American immigrant experience: a novel at once wise, funny, poignant, anguishing, exultant-and bursting with love.

"From the Hardcover edition.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Up from Orchard Street -
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Publication Date: 2013
Book Condition: BRAND NEW

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Widmer, Eleanor
Published by Bantam (2005)
ISBN 10: 0553804006 ISBN 13: 9780553804003
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam, 2005. Condition: Good. First Edition. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP87311021

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Eleanor Widmer
Published by Bantam (2006)
ISBN 10: 0553383736 ISBN 13: 9780553383737
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam, 2006. Condition: Good. Reprint. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP9398036

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Eleanor Widmer
Published by Bantam (2006)
ISBN 10: 0553383736 ISBN 13: 9780553383737
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam, 2006. Condition: Very Good. Reprint. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP97526173

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Widmer, Eleanor
Published by Bantam (2005)
ISBN 10: 0553804006 ISBN 13: 9780553804003
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam, 2005. Condition: Good. First Edition. Ships from Reno, NV. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP97544067

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Eleanor Widmer
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553804006 ISBN 13: 9780553804003
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
OwlsBooks
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2732130752

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Eleanor Widmer
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553804006 ISBN 13: 9780553804003
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Pro Quo Books
(Hammond, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2831827529

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Eleanor Widmer
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553804006 ISBN 13: 9780553804003
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2846435592

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Eleanor Widmer
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553383736 ISBN 13: 9780553383737
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. Paperback. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2856325649

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Eleanor Widmer
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0553804006 ISBN 13: 9780553804003
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Motor City
(Brownstown, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Condition: Fair. Seller Inventory # G0553804006I5N00

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Eleanor Widmer
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0553804006 ISBN 13: 9780553804003
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Atlanta Book Co.
(Atlanta, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Light wear to edges and pages. Cover and spine show no easily noticeable damage. Seller Inventory # G0553804006I4N10

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 63 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book