ISBN 10: 1558857036 / ISBN 13: 9781558857032
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Summary: This brilliant novel weaves Afro-Caribbean witchcraft in New York Citys Latino community with the sudden appearance of a young girl believed dead since infancy and the mystery of her mothers disappearance in Puerto Rico sixteen years ago. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.04 avg rating
(27 ratings)

Synopsis: Fina is a big girl with a big mouth. She's the neighborhood bruja, or spirit worker as she likes to call herself, casting spells for her neighbors in Manhattan's Upper West Side. She can't believe it, though, when she puts an accidental fufu or spell on Chico, the irresistible trumpet player who lives upstairs. "With so many scraps of his clothing . . . sprinkled with blood, gunpowder, sugar, spit, and God knows what else, poor Chico's body didn't know if it was being cursed or blessed."

Chico recovers just as two women from his past turn up: his former beauty-queen lover and an attractive young woman claiming to be his long-dead daughter. Fina is not pleased. So she visits her mentor, Tata Victor Tumba Fuego, Master of Fire. He specializes in Palo Monte, the Afro-Caribbean magical art of controlling and manipulating spirits housed in cauldrons. The Ancient One, the oldest spirit working for Victor, wants a blood sacrifice from Fina, something she has managed to avoid. "We ain't on the island no more, we don't sacrifice in the mountains of Africa or Cuba; we do it in our apartments." But she needs help, so she'll do what it takes. All too soon she finds herself involved with a spirit whose quest for revenge can't be stopped.

Weaving Afro-Caribbean witchcraft rituals with the sixteen-year-old mystery of a woman's disappearance, Outside the Bones is an erotically charged ghost story set in both present-day New York and Puerto Rico. Following in the tradition of Anne Rice, Lyn Di Iorio's brilliant debut novel takes a mesmerizing look at issues of race, class, power and greed.

About the Author: LYN DI IORIO grew up in Puerto Rico and came to the Mainland to attend Harvard University, from which she graduated Magna Cum Laude. She received her master's degree from Stanford University's Creative Writing Program and her doctorate in English literature from the University of California at Berkeley. She teaches literature and creative writing at The City College of New York and The Graduate Center of the City University of New York.  She is also the author of scholarly books on Latino literature.  Outside the Bones was named BEST DEBUT NOVEL by a Latino writer on the 2011 Latinidad Best Books list.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Book Condition: Used

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lyn Di Iorio
Published by Arte Publico Pr (2011)
ISBN 10: 1558857036 ISBN 13: 9781558857032
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arte Publico Pr, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: Used: Good. Bookseller Inventory # SONG1558857036

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 10.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lyn Di Iorio
Published by Arte Publico Press, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 1558857036 ISBN 13: 9781558857032
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arte Publico Press, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Fina is a big girl with a big mouth. She s the neighborhood spirit worker, casting spells for her neighbors in Manhattan s Upper West Side. She can t believe it, though, when she puts an accidental fuf or spell on Chico, the irresistible trumpet player who lives upstairs. Chico recovers just as two women from his past turn up: his former beauty-queen lover and an attractive young woman claiming to be his long-dead daughter. Fina is not pleased. So she visits her mentor, Tata Victor Tumba Fuego, Master of Fire. He specializes in Palo Monte, the Afro-Caribbean magical art of controlling and manipulating spirits housed in cauldrons. All too soon she finds herself involved with a spirit whose quest for revenge can t be stopped. Weaving Afro-Caribbean witchcraft rituals with the sixteen-year-old mystery of a woman s disappearance, Outside the Bones is an erotically charged ghost story set in both present-day New York and Puerto Rico. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9781558857032

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Lyn Di Iorio
Published by Arte Publico Pr (2011)
ISBN 10: 1558857036 ISBN 13: 9781558857032
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arte Publico Pr, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1558857036

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Di Iorio, Lyn
Published by Arte Público Press, Houston, Texas (2011)
ISBN 10: 1558857036 ISBN 13: 9781558857032
Used Paperback First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Casa Camino Real
(Las Cruces, NM, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arte Público Press, Houston, Texas, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. No Jacket. Wilfred Santiago (illustrator). First Edition. Signed by author: "Hope you enjoy the book! Lyn Di Lorio." Book is in very good/near fine conditon. First book by Puerto Rican author, Lyn Di Iorio. "Written with humor and verve, no small amount of magic and the sassy supernatural, this no-holds barred story with grab you by the lapels and not let you go." --Blurb by Cristina García, author of Dreaming In Cuban. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Signed by Author. Soft Cover. Bookseller Inventory # 001636

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 25.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Lyn Di Iorio
Published by Arte Publico Press, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 1558857036 ISBN 13: 9781558857032
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arte Publico Press, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Fina is a big girl with a big mouth. She s the neighborhood spirit worker, casting spells for her neighbors in Manhattan s Upper West Side. She can t believe it, though, when she puts an accidental fuf or spell on Chico, the irresistible trumpet player who lives upstairs. Chico recovers just as two women from his past turn up: his former beauty-queen lover and an attractive young woman claiming to be his long-dead daughter. Fina is not pleased. So she visits her mentor, Tata Victor Tumba Fuego, Master of Fire. He specializes in Palo Monte, the Afro-Caribbean magical art of controlling and manipulating spirits housed in cauldrons. All too soon she finds herself involved with a spirit whose quest for revenge can t be stopped. Weaving Afro-Caribbean witchcraft rituals with the sixteen-year-old mystery of a woman s disappearance, Outside the Bones is an erotically charged ghost story set in both present-day New York and Puerto Rico. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9781558857032

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 32.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Lyn Di Iorio
Published by Arte Publico Pr (2011)
ISBN 10: 1558857036 ISBN 13: 9781558857032
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arte Publico Pr, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: Like New. Almost new condition. Bookseller Inventory # P011558857036

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 41.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Lyn Di Iorio
Published by Arte Publico Pr (2011)
ISBN 10: 1558857036 ISBN 13: 9781558857032
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arte Publico Pr, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Great condition with minimal wear, aging, or shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # P021558857036

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 44.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Lyn Di Iorio
Published by Arte Publico Pr (2011)
ISBN 10: 1558857036 ISBN 13: 9781558857032
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arte Publico Pr, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P111558857036

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 45.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds