The Oxford Book of Children's Verse in America (Oxford Books of Verse)

Oxford University Press

Published by Oxford University Press, 1985
ISBN 10: 0195035399 / ISBN 13: 9780195035391
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! j. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4 avg rating
(12 ratings)

Synopsis: In the tradition of Iona and Peter Opie's Oxford Book of Children's Verse comes this anthology by the award-winning poet and children's book author Donald Hall. Bringing together "poems written for children and also poems written for anybody which children have enjoyed," the book includes anonymous works, ballads, and recitation pieces, beginning with the Calvinist verses of the seventeenth century.
Hall has collected poems from Sunday School magazines, Christmas annuals for children, and children's periodicals such as St. Nicholas and Youth's Companion. Many marvelous writers, some no longer remembered, wrote almost every month for these nineteenth and twentieth century publications. In addition to the expected names of Longfellow and Whittier, we find Sarah Josepha Hale ("Mary Had a Little Lamb"), Mary Mapes Dodge (creator of Hans Brinker), and Palmer Cox (with his marvelous Brownies). Twentieth century authors abound: Ogden Nash, T.S. Eliot, John Updike, Theodore Roethke, to name just a few. The book concludes with the fabulous nonsense of present-day writers like Shel Silverstein and Nancy Willard.

About the Editor:

Donald Hall's many books include The Oxford Book of American Literary Anecdotes, Kicking the Leaves, and Ox-Cart Man, which won the Caldecott Medal for children's literature.

About the Author: Donald Hall is the author of numerous books of poetry and prose.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Oxford Book of Children's Verse in ...
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publication Date: 1985
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Used: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Donald Hall
Published by Oxford University Press (1985)
ISBN 10: 0195035399 ISBN 13: 9780195035391
Used Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, 1985. Book Condition: Good. Later Printing. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP3294881

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Donald Hall
Published by Oxford University Press (1985)
ISBN 10: 0195035399 ISBN 13: 9780195035391
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, 1985. Book Condition: Good. Later Printing. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP86007839

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Donald Hall
Published by Oxford University Press (1985)
ISBN 10: 0195035399 ISBN 13: 9780195035391
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, 1985. Book Condition: Fair. Later Printing. Former Library book. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP7609906

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Hall, Donald
Published by Oxford University Press
ISBN 10: 0195035399 ISBN 13: 9780195035391
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. Cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage. May have creases on the cover and binding caused from handling and reading. Some pages may contain writing and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 2776826817

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Published by Oxford University Press
ISBN 10: 0195035399 ISBN 13: 9780195035391
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Atlanta Book Company
(Atlanta, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Dust Cover Missing. Bookseller Inventory # G0195035399I5N11

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Published by Oxford University Press
ISBN 10: 0195035399 ISBN 13: 9780195035391
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Sierra Nevada Books
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Bookseller Inventory # G0195035399I5N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Published by Oxford University Press
ISBN 10: 0195035399 ISBN 13: 9780195035391
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Second City Books
(Aurora, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. Bookseller Inventory # G0195035399I5N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Published by Oxford University Press, Incorporated
ISBN 10: 0195035399 ISBN 13: 9780195035391
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Green Earth Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, Incorporated. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Light shelving wear with minimal damage to cover and bindings. Pages show minor use. Bookseller Inventory # G0195035399I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Published by Oxford University Press, Incorporated
ISBN 10: 0195035399 ISBN 13: 9780195035391
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free State Books
(Halethorpe, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, Incorporated. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear, and the pages have only minimal creases. Bookseller Inventory # G0195035399I3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Published by Oxford University Press, Incorporated
ISBN 10: 0195035399 ISBN 13: 9780195035391
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Second City Books
(Aurora, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, Incorporated. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book has some visible wear on the binding, cover, pages. Bookseller Inventory # G0195035399I3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 57 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book