The Palace of Curiosities

Rosie Garland

Published by HarperCollins, 2013
ISBN 10: 0007492774 / ISBN 13: 9780007492770
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! L. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.47 avg rating
(919 ratings)

Synopsis: A luminous and bewitching debut novel that is perfect for fans of Angela Carter. Set in Victorian London, it follows the fortunes of Eve, the Lion-Faced Girl and Abel, the Flayed Man. A magical realism delight. Before Eve is born, her mother goes to the circus. She buys a penny twist of coloured sugar and settles down to watch the heart-stopping main attraction: a lion, billed as a monster from the savage heart of Africa, forged in the heat of a merciless sun. Mama swears she hears the lion sigh, just before it leaps...and when Eve is born, the story goes, she didn't cry - she meowed and licked her paws. When Abel is pulled from the stinking Thames, the mudlarks are sure he is long dead. As they search his pockets to divvy up the treasure, his eyes crack open and he coughs up a stream of black water. But how has he survived a week in that thick stew of human waste? Cast out by Victorian society, Eve and Abel find succour from an unlikely source. They will become The Lion Faced Girl and The Flayed Man, star performers in Professor Josiah Arroner's Palace of Curiosities. And there begins a journey that will entwine their fates forever.

About the Author: Born in London to a runaway teenager, Rosie has always been a cuckoo in the nest. She is an eclectic writer and performer, ranging from singing in Goth band The March Violets through touring with the Subversive Stitch exhibition in the 90s, to her current incarnation as Rosie Lugosi the Vampire Queen, cabaret chanteuse, incomparable compere and electrifying poet. She has published five solo collections of poetry and her award-winning short stories, poems and essays have been widely anthologized. The Palace of Curiosities is her debut novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Palace of Curiosities
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: 2013
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Used: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Rosie Garland
Published by Harpercollins (2013)
ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2013. Book Condition: Good. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP77645424

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 7.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Rosie Garland
Published by Harpercollins (2013)
ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
Used Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2013. Book Condition: Very Good. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP72236560

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 7.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Rosie Garland
Published by Harpercollins (2013)
ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2013. Book Condition: Good. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP76721239

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 11.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Rosie Garland
Published by Harpercollins (2013)
ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2013. Book Condition: Good. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP96759102

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 11.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Garland, Rosie
ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Fine. Bookseller Inventory # GOR006633454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 9.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.85
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Garland, Rosie
ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Bookseller Inventory # GOR004768986

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 19.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.85
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Garland, Rosie
ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Bookseller Inventory # GOR004893707

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 19.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.85
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Cover and/or pages are damaged. We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW004LZW

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 25.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Garland, Rosie
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. 0007492774 Little edge wear. Bookseller Inventory # Z0007492774Z2

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 29.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Published by Harpercollins 2013-01-01 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins 2013-01-01, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0007492774. Bookseller Inventory # Z0007492774ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 35.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 9 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book