Pilate's Wife

Doolittle, Hilda; H.D.

Published by New Directions, 2000
ISBN 10: 0811214338 / ISBN 13: 9780811214339
Used / Soft Cover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

0811214338 A New Directions Paperbook Original: ND890. Fine in wrappers. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.57 avg rating
(23 ratings)

Synopsis:

A feminist, spiritual novel recasting biblical history in the tradition of Lawrence's The Man Who Died and Kazantzakis's The Last Temptation of Christ.

Veronica―Pontius Pilate's wife―is beautiful, brilliant, and weary of a life spent in her boudoir and the Roman court. When one of her lovers sends her disguised as a servant to a seer, she feels suddenly alive, experiencing "sudden pre-visions of inner splendor." The seer, Mnevis, arouses the artist, the dreamer in her, eventually telling her of a Jew, a "love-god," who believes women have an important place in the spiritual hierarchy. What follows is a chain of events in which Veronica commits the one genuine act of her life, offering Jesus a "way out" before his crucifixion.

This revision of biblical history―in the tradition of D. H. Lawrence's The Man Who Died and Kazantzakis's The Last Temptation of Christ―is not just a novel; but part of the ongoing dialogue about the feminine and divine. Pilate's Wife was written by H.D. in 1929, revised in 1934, and is now finally published by New Directions, edited with an introduction by H.D. scholar Joan Burke. It is a testament to Alicia Ostriker's claim that, among the women poets and novelists of this century, "H.D. is the most profoundly religious, the most seriously engaged in spiritual quest."

About the Author: H.D. (1886-1961) (the pen name of Hilda Doolittle) was born in the Moravian community of Bethlehem, PA in 1886. A major twentieth century poet with “an ear more subtle than Pound’s, Moore’s, or Yeats’s” as Marie Ponsot writes, she was the author of several volumes of poetry, fiction, essays, and memoirs. She is perhaps one of the best-known and prolific women poets of the Modernist era. Bryher Ellerman was a novelist and H.D.’s wealthy companion. She financed H.D.’s therapy with Freud.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Pilate's Wife
Publisher: New Directions
Publication Date: 2000
Binding: Soft Cover
Book Condition: Fine
Edition: First Edition

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hilda Doolittle
Published by New Directions Publishing Corporation
ISBN 10: 0811214338 ISBN 13: 9780811214339
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description New Directions Publishing Corporation. Paperback. Condition: As New. An apparently unread copy in perfect condition. Dust cover is intact; pages are clean and are not marred by notes or folds of any kind. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0811214338I2N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Hilda Doolittle
Published by New Directions Publishing Corporation
ISBN 10: 0811214338 ISBN 13: 9780811214339
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description New Directions Publishing Corporation. Paperback. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0811214338I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

H. d., H.D.
Published by New Directions Publishing Corporation (2000)
ISBN 10: 0811214338 ISBN 13: 9780811214339
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description New Directions Publishing Corporation, 2000. Condition: Good. First Edition. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP105913855

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.31
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Doolittle, Hilda; H.D.
Published by New Directions
ISBN 10: 0811214338 ISBN 13: 9780811214339
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
London Bridge Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description New Directions. PAPERBACK. Condition: Very Good. 0811214338 Dispatched from London. Seller Inventory # Z0811214338Z2

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 14.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

H.D.,Doolittle, Hilda
Published by New Directions (2000)
ISBN 10: 0811214338 ISBN 13: 9780811214339
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Ruby
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description New Directions, 2000. Paperback. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_230025553

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Hilda Doolittle; H.D.
Published by New Directions (2000)
ISBN 10: 0811214338 ISBN 13: 9780811214339
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description New Directions, 2000. Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Seller Inventory # 0811214338-2-4

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

ISBN 10: 0811214338 ISBN 13: 9780811214339
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BombBooks
(King of prussia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: Acceptable. Will show clear signs of use and may include ONE or MORE of the following: water damage to pages, loose binding, loose pages, worn, bent or torn covers. Used books may not contain supplements such as access codes, CDs, etc. Every item ships the same or next business day with tracking number emailed to you. Get Bombed!!. Seller Inventory # 3U1DOZ003044

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Doolittle, Hilda; H.D.
Published by New Directions
ISBN 10: 0811214338 ISBN 13: 9780811214339
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description New Directions. PAPERBACK. Condition: Very Good. 0811214338 Crisp, clean, unread book with some shelfwear - NICE. Seller Inventory # Z0811214338Z2

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 7.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

H. D. ( Edited with and Introduction by Joan A. Burke )
Published by New Directions Publsihing, New York (2000)
ISBN 10: 0811214338 ISBN 13: 9780811214339
Used Soft Cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grandmahawk's Eyrie
(Mansfield Center, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description New Directions Publsihing, New York, 2000. Soft Cover. Condition: Good+. First Thus. PB, pictorial card covers, 135pp. Moderate rubbing, creasing to covers, fading to spine, inside has light tanning & stains to page edges, mild moisture ripple to last few pages at lower corner, remainder mark to lower edges, else square & tight, with no markings. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Seller Inventory # jct003595

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

H.D.,Doolittle, Hilda
Published by New Directions (2000)
ISBN 10: 0811214338 ISBN 13: 9780811214339
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Emerald
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description New Directions, 2000. Paperback. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_236942194

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.48
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are 19 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book