The Price of Liberty

Graff, Keir

Published by Severn House Publishers, 2011
ISBN 10: 1847512488 / ISBN 13: 9781847512482
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Gently used. Expect delivery in 20 days. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.12 avg rating
(50 ratings)

Synopsis: Finalist for the Society of Midland Authors Fiction Prize

"With its wacky characters and deadpan humor, Graff's third novel (after My Fellow Americans and One Nation, Under God), another winner, will appeal to those who like their thrillers slightly off-kilter in the tradition of Donald Westlake and Lawrence Block."
--Library Journal

"Graff's cynical take on government waste and corporate greed plays well. McEnroe is as rugged as the desolate country he lives in, and his gritty do-what-ya-gotta-do actions keep the pages turning easily."
--Publishers Weekly

"Graff's writing keeps the reader anxious for the next scene. If a tale of murder and mystery, told with finely wrought characters, setting, and a delightful touch of humor, is of interest, this is the book to read."
--ForeWord Reviews

"By the time you reach the halfway point, you can't stop reading. . . . Other contemporary thriller writers resort to the exotic and outlandish to sustain their narrative, but Graff builds suspense around real people in the real world. He plugs his characters into the everyday and reveals how unnerving it can be."
--Chicago Sun-Times

"one of the best books of the year by any local author . . . a different America that is good, good reading."
--Rick Kogan, WGN

"a first-class thriller that sweeps the reader along on a bouncy, jarring ride . . . It will grip you, it will feel real, and it will make you think about American values."
--Blogcritics.org

"Graff's tautest yet. It's an almost seamless thriller, a page-turner. The best feature of the book is the villain, Shane Fetters. In a new move for Graff, the book is partly told from Fetters' point of view, which allows Graff to flex a talent also not yet seen in his previous novels: humor."
--Missoula Independent

"The ensuing events include murders and chases, with the tension building to a crescendo . . . it is a fast-reading, exciting novel, and is recommended."
--Spinetingler

It's a new day in America--but old contracts must still be paid.

Jack McEnroe is a construction worker with an unusual job: building a prison for terrorists. Like his neighbors in Red Rock, Wyoming, Jack isn't particularly concerned about politics. In a depressed rural economy, he's just grateful to have a job.

Jack's boss, Dave Fetters, is grateful, too: he has a no-bid, cost-plus contract issued by the previous administration. It's his last chance to get rich, and he's making the most of it.

But Dave is cooking the books, passing inflated costs along to defense contractor Halcyon Corporation--and Jack's ex-wife, Kyla, plans to blow the whistle. Suddenly, everyone Jack cares about, including his two young children, is in danger.

As the first winter snows fall in the rugged mountains, Jack must navigate a razor-wire labyrinth to rescue those he loves. And the true price of liberty, he discovers, is paid not in dollars, but human life.

From the Inside Flap: Jack McEnroe is a construction worker with an unusual job: building a prison for terrorists. Like his neighbors in Red Rock, Wyoming, Jack isn't particularly concerned about politics. In a depressed rural economy, he's just grateful to have a job.

Jack's boss, Dave Fetters, is grateful, too: he has a no-bid, cost-plus contract issued by the previous administration. It's his last chance to get rich, and he's making the most of it.

But Dave is cooking the books, passing along inflated costs to defense contractor Halcyon Corporation -- and Jack's ex-wife, Kyla, plans to blow the whistle. Suddenly, everyone Jack cares about, including his two young children, is in danger.

As the first snows fall in the rugged mountains, Jack must navigate a razor-wire labyrinth to rescue those he loves. And the true price of liberty, he discovers, is paid not in dollars, but human life.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Price of Liberty
Publisher: Severn House Publishers
Publication Date: 2011
Book Condition: very good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Graff, Keir
Published by Severn House Paperbacks Ltd (2010)
ISBN 10: 1847512488 ISBN 13: 9781847512482
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
JULIES BOOKSHOP
(Consett, CO D, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Severn House Paperbacks Ltd, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. An EX LIBRARY copy in VERY GOOD overall condition. May have some library stamps, marks etc. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000076021

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.05
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Keir Graff
ISBN 10: 1847512488 ISBN 13: 9781847512482
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
*BIG BANG BOOKS*
(Durham, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bookseller Inventory # SKU-3455766

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.05
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Keir Graff
ISBN 10: 1847512488 ISBN 13: 9781847512482
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
MegaBooksUK
(Wolsingham, A, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bookseller Inventory # SKU-3455766

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.05
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Keir Graff
Published by Severn House Publishers, Limited
ISBN 10: 1847512488 ISBN 13: 9781847512482
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blue Cloud Books
(Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Severn House Publishers, Limited. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. This book has a light amount of wear to the pages, cover and binding. Bookseller Inventory # G1847512488I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 7.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Keir Graff
Published by Severn House Publishers February 2011 (2011)
ISBN 10: 1847512488 ISBN 13: 9781847512482
Used Paper Back First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Garden
(Bountiful, UT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Severn House Publishers February 2011, 2011. Paper Back. Book Condition: Very Good - Cash. First Edition. Glossy covers, barbed wire fencing on face. Clean, light wear. Clean pages. Signed. Signed By Author. Bookseller Inventory # 689433

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 8.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Keir Graff
Published by Severn House Publishers (2011)
ISBN 10: 1847512488 ISBN 13: 9781847512482
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Severn House Publishers, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # SONG1847512488

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Graff, Keir
Published by Severn House Publishers (2011)
ISBN 10: 1847512488 ISBN 13: 9781847512482
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Severn House Publishers, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Great condition with minimal wear, aging, or shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # P021847512488

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 90.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds